Wednesday, December 26, 2012

Review & Giveaway! Blood Bond, by Heather Hildenbrand!

Review of Blood Bond, by Heather Hildenbrand!  *PLUS* One lucky reader will win an e-copy of the Dirty Blood Omnibus! That’s all THREE books in the series! Merry Christmas to you!

Tara is at it again in the third installment of the Dirty Blood Series: Blood Bond.  With Miles taken care of and the school year ending, she should be able to get her life back on track, right?  Cambria is coming to stay the summer with her and she will get to spend time with Wes, her hot-to-trot boyfriend, who has been leading The Cause.  Sun, best friend, and hot guy: sounds good, right?
One small problem.  She still has to deal with her ex-boyfriend, George, who Miles injected with a serum to turn him into a Werewolf.  Tara must find a way to save him, even if it means looking up a long lost relative who is a bit of a recluse, as well as being accused of being a murderer.  This relative holds the information that Tara needs to save George’s life, but is Tara willing to risk her own life to save him?
Oh, and did I mention that Alex took the job that would allow him to spend his time slaughtering every hybrid that they come across?  She may be confused about her feelings for him, but Tara knows that what the CHAS is doing is wrong. So there’s that too.
I found this book to be an excellent continuation of the series, filled with action, intrigue, and a little bit of romance, for those of us that have a small crush on Wes or Alex.  (I’m a Wes girl, always have been)  I found this book to be attention grabbing and fun, but definitely not one of those books that are filled with fluff.  The story moves along extremely well, with no signs of stopping.  This author sure knows how to keep a reader’s attention. 
With that being said, the ending of this book killed me!  The next book is slated to come out next year, which isn’t that far away, but it feels like forever!  So make sure you grab yourself a copy and catch up before the fourth book comes out.  I promise to help you with your withdrawals from this amazing world, but that means we have to be strong.  Wes needs me...I mean, us. J

About the Author:
Heather Hildenbrand was born and raised in a small town in northern Virginia where she was homeschooled through high school. She now lives in coastal VA, a few miles from the Atlantic Ocean, with her two adorable children. She works from home, part time, as a property manager and when she's not furiously pounding at the keyboard, or staring off into space whilst plotting a new story, she's lying on the beach, soaking in those delicious, pre-cancerous rays.
Heather loves Mexican food, hates socks with sandals, and if her house was on fire, the one thing she'd grab is her DVR player.
You can find out more about her and her books at
Or stalk her here:
Heather is a co-founder of Accendo Press, a publishing group she operates with fellow authors: Angeline Kace and Jennifer Sommersby. Accendo (a-CH-endo), A Latin word, means “to kindle, illuminate, inflame, or set fire.” This is something Accendo strives to do inside a reader’s imagination with every title released. For a complete list of titles and author bios, visit

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Black Moon Blog Tour

Black Moon
Paige Tailor Series Book One

Jessica McQuay

Genre: YA/NA Paranormal Fantasy

ISBN: 1936185741
Number of pages: 240

Cover Artist: Miriam Grunhaus

Book Blurb:
"Am I losing my mind?"

Paige couldn't help but question her sanity. What other explanation could there be for her hearing a conversation held barely above a whisper in the back of a classroom full of students? What about coming home to find one of those very classmates lying in wait in the darkness of her home, ready to attack her?

Confused, frustrated and feeling every ounce of her social ostracism, Paige confides in the one person she's always been able to count on: her mom. But when her mom reveals a deeply rooted, unbelievable family secret, Paige discovers her world is filled with more than she ever imagined possible. A world where fairytales live alongside nightmares and secrets are the glue that binds them together. Suddenly no one is who they seem and Paige is faced with more questions than answers. Can she survive in a world filled with creatures scarier than anything she could imagine and where deceit runs as thick as blood? Or will the truth send her over the edge?

I hate writing reviews that are less than glowing, but it is my personal opinion that this book is lacking a certain something.  At this point, I’m not quite sure what it would be.  The beginning started off well, pulling me into this world of fae, shifters, and werewolves.  It was about half way through where I felt the first inklings of confusion.  The description of the surroundings was outstanding, allowing me to feel as if I was truly there, but the characters themselves felt shallow and fell flat for me. 
There were also inconsistencies and points that left me unsure why it was there.  And while I normally can overlook the step by step descriptions, there were so many that I would end up wanting to skip whole paragraphs.  Along with quite a few grammar issues, the plot holes were also part of why I can only give this book three stars.  I like the general concept, but the execution needs some tweaking. 
As I said, I absolutely loathe giving reviews that are less than stellar, but I could not, in good conscience, rave about this book.  I think the book has a lot of potential and has the ability to be a great book, but it is my personal opinion that it needs to go through another round of editing in order to achieve that.  I hope that this review does not deter you from giving it a chance.  Just because this wasn’t a home run for me, doesn’t mean that someone else won’t love it.  

Where to Buy: Amazon & B&N

About The Author: Jessica McQuay

There were three things Jessica loved to do growing up; reading, writing and playing music. She discovered her love for writing at a young age, when she realized she could create anything she wanted with words. Jessica lives in Sacramento, CA with her husband, four children, a goldfish named Sparkle and their cat, Talula. When she isn't working on the next Paige Tailor novel, taking her children to one activity or another, or folding the never ending laundry of a six person family, Jessica enjoys playing her clarinet in the community band, reading while enjoying a cup of coffee or heading to the theater and catching a movie with her husband.

Stalker Links: Website / Blog / Twitter / Facebook / Goodreads

Review, Interview and Giveaway: Master of Whitehall!

Blurb of Master of Whitehall:
After the brutal murder of her parents in a robbery, Katelyn Corbin, a thoroughly modern 21 year old college senior, finds herself attempting to re-start her life in Charleston, SC, where she finds love, healing and a brand new life in a most unexpected avenue.
This story follows Katelyn from her hometown just outside Atlanta to her new school in Charleston. There she meets James and is deeply intrigued by him from their first meeting; feeling as if he has touched her very soul. The more she considers him, the more intense her interest becomes. He is a wealthy patron of the arts, especially at her school. He is tall and handsome with a strong persona; a young widower, living alone in a huge, but beautifully restored old plantation house called 'Whitehall'. Their friendship soon becomes serious, becoming a full on relationship as Katelyn falls madly in love with him. James soon makes his love for her just as obvious. Their lives begin to blend, twisting and turning, as they continue to grow closer.
After several strange incidents, Katelyn begins to develop a series of unsettling questions about her new love. However, she knows that after facing the catastrophe of her parent’s deaths, she can face anything life throws at her. She begins looking at the questions, searching her own soul. Finally deciding that she must know the answers, she confronts him. She soon discovers James' true nature; confirming her fears that he was indeed not the man she thought, but the man she feared him to be. The confirmation of her suspicions are shocking to her, turning her world view on its side. She is forced to acknowledge things about herself and her world that she never thought possible. With her new found knowledge, Katelyn realizes she must make a choice to live with or without James. She quickly decides to adapt her life and adjust her beliefs in order to continue to be with James.
Their love for each other develops and continues to grow as he assists her to close the gaping wounds left by the tragedy of her parent’s murders. Katelyn continues to uncover other secrets, discovering another existence, as she begins her new life with James. The story reaches a highly emotional and completely unexpected ending that fully illustrates Katelyn's personality of love and care for those around her.
The Master of Whitehall, a paranormal romance novel is complete at 104,000 words. The story unfolds over the course of nearly a year, and features flashbacks that more fully develop each of the characters, offering insights into their personal histories. The story is narrated in first person perspective by Katelyn as she offers a window into the world of possibilities of love between mortal and immortal.
The Master of Whitehall will be very appealing to readers of Rachel Caine's 'Morganville Vampires', Charlaine Harris’ ‘True Blood’ series, and Anne Rice's 'Vampire Chronicles'.

Review of Master of Whitehall:
I just finished The Master of Whitehall and was really surprised at how good this adaptation of the vampire story was.  Katelyn is a lovely young woman who becomes a strong vampire with the loving assistance of James Dubois, the Master of Whitehall.  The story drew me in, slowly at first, but then I found myself racing from page to page to learn more.
Mr. Veal has done a wonderful job in capturing the sensuality that makes most of us intrigued by vampire lore.  There is a certain beauty in the creatures he portrays as well as in how he weaves history and humanity in to the tale as well.  I have thoroughly enjoyed reading this novel.  I will confess that in my haste to learn more, I may have missed something, and now that I have finished the story, I intend to go back through it yet again, as I feel there is some small detail that may have escaped my attention. 
I am honored to have had the privilege to read such a unique novel.  I can only hope to be able to read more from this amazingly talented author soon.  I hope that you consider purchasing your copy of The Master of Whitehall.  If you enjoy reading about vampires and are willing to let go of some of the common myths that surround these creatures, then I assure you, you are in for a literary treat.  So, on that note, I wish you very happy reading indeed!    

About the Author: Rick H. Veal
I was born in and have spent the majority of my life in the Upstate of South Carolina. I joined the Navy immediately out of high school where I had the pleasure of visiting some eighteen different countries during a six year span. After returning home I attended The University of South Carolina graduating with a double Associates Degree with Honors. I completed my education at Presbyterian College in Clinton, South Carolina where I earned a Bachelor's Degree in History. I have worked in the education field as a teacher and in various management positions in industry. I currently live alone with my one daughter, a three year old Tuxedo cat, who graciously allows me to think I actually own the house.
My favorite authors are Anne Rice, Rachal Caine, L.J. Smith, Charlene Harris and Clive Cussler. I enjoy reading and writing paranormal romance. I have heard that if you want to write, you should write the book you want to read, then others will want to read it too. That is exactly what I have tried to do with The Master of Whitehall, my debut novel.

Interview with Rick H. Veal:
What inspired you to write your first book?
I love vampire stories and Charleston, SC, so the two just seemed to fit together. I began thinking about how the two could play into each other, came up with an initial idea and just built on it from there. I have been a reader all my life. I enjoy storytelling which to me is what a book is all about, so I “spun my own story” as the old saying goes.

Do you have a specific writing style?
I enjoy writing from the first person perspective. For me it just opens up a lot more dialogue for the characters and allows the reader to get to know them better also.

How did you come up with the title?
Whitehall is a well-known name in the Low Country so made for a good setting. The character James, who lives at Whitehall was born in the 18th century and the common name for the head of the house a that time was Master, hence “The Master of Whitehall”.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
If anything specific it would be that love is eternal and regardless of what may have happened to you in the past, you can have a happy life.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?
No, it’s purely fiction.

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?
I have two favorites, Anne Rice and Clive Cussler. I think that if you have read either of those you will see their influence in my writing. I love Cussler’s storytelling ability and Rice’s attention to detail.

What book are you reading now?
“Dark Nebula” by W.J. May. It is book 2 in The Chronicles of Kerrigan.

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?
Yes, W.J. May – she writes YA and I really like her story of Rae Kerrigan.

What are your current projects?
I am currently working on book two, the working title is “Lexi’s Legacy”. It picks up about a year after the end of the first book and continues with Lexi telling her story and adventures of a young girl that is also a new-born immortal.
I have an idea on the back burner to do a “Special Limited, Signed, Numbered and Illustrated Edition” of “The Master of Whitehall”. But at present I am just playing around with sizing and binding ideas.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?
Wow … that’s a hard one! I’m sure that there is always room for change but I haven’t thought a lot about it lately. Most of my time is spent thinking about and working on book two. But if I did make any major changes, such as added chapters of deleted material, they would be reserved for any special edition I eventually do.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
I have always enjoyed telling a story but struggled with putting it on paper. That changed when I went back to school in the early 90’s. My college English professor taught me how to write and how to enjoy it. I have been writing various things ever since.

Can you share a little of your current work with us?
Lexi is kind of special to me … she became Katelyn’s best friend in book one and a sounding board for dialogue. She is an academic, had a good family and a great plan for her life. After becoming so involved with Katelyn and James, it was just inevitable to not give her a place to tell her story.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?
Sometimes I find myself asking ‘is that possible, does it make sense, will it be believable?’ and then working around any of those obstacles.
The second thing is that vampires are and always have been sensual, and probably more so now with the development of the genre in recent years. So looking at it from that angle, having a sensual character to start with combined with a romance, I think trying to not make the story overly erotic, can be difficult sometimes. There are steamy scenes in the story but fitting them in, making them flow with the story and not just tossing them in as “sex for sex sake” can be thought provoking. I want to always keep it fresh and not “cut and paste” old ideas from one section to another.

Who designed the covers?
My original cover was designed by Rae Monet. Since that time I have met and am working with another great artist Debbie Taylor at DCA Graphics. Debbie did all of “The Character Series” prints, is working up a cover for the special edition project, and will do the cover for Lexi’s story.

What was the hardest part of writing your book?
Knowing when to say, “That’s enough, it’s finished, edited and as complete as possible. Send it to the printer!”

Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
It’s a hard job, but a very rewarding job. When I meet someone at an event and they say to me, “Hey, I bought your book and I loved it!” then all the long hours are worth it. It feels good to know that my story is entertaining to others.

Do you have any advice for other writers?
I will repeat Anne Rice’s advice to writers:
“If you want to be a writer, write. Write and write and write. If you stop, start again. Save everything that you write. If you feel blocked, write through it until you feel your creative juices flowing again. Write. Writing is what makes a writer, nothing more and nothing less. Ignore critics. Critics are a dime a dozen. Anybody can be a critic. Writers are priceless.”
I would also add to not be a hurry to get your book out there – there will be plenty of time to see your name on the cover of a book (probably one of the best feelings in the world) but take your time and make sure that your book is right … because once it’s out there, it’s out there forever, complete with all the bumps and boo-boo’s.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
I hope that each of you takes the time to get to know Katelyn, James, Lexi, Charlotte Ann and Dale. They each have their own personality and something to offer. Please suspend your everyday life and step into a world of fantasy where vampires live and love – one that is not as dark as most – a place where life is perfect and everyone is happy. Let your imagination take you on a journey, one where there can be a happy ending for all.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, December 18, 2012

Lil Anchor's Sleigh Ride Blog Tour

Welcome to R&M's stop on the Lil Anchor's Sleigh Ride!  Today we want to share with you some info on these wonderful children's novels, which we have read and reviewed!  Each of these women weaves a wonderful tale that children of all ages are sure to enjoy and appreciate!  So, take a break, relax, and take a look at these fantastic tales for your wee one!  If you want to read our reviews, make sure you check out our Kid's Korner, located in a tab at the top of the blog.

Waffles and Pancakes: A Lesson in Bullying

Waffles and Pancakes are two hamsters, from the same pet store, that went to their new homes on the same day. They also happen to be the best of friends. In their first adventure, their owners became best friends, too. Together the four learned the lesson of true friendship. Now Waffles and Pancakes, along with their owners, are about to learn another lesson, A Lesson in Bullying. Join Waffles and Pancakes, along with Danny and Griffin, their owners, as they come face to face with a couple of bullies; Tom and his guinea pig, Oscar. Will Waffles, Pancakes, and their owners be able to become friends with Tom and Oscar? Find out when you read Waffles and Pancakes: A Lesson In Bullying.  

Find Cindy on Facebook & Purchase on Amazon

James Saves the Moon by Wendy Nystrom

"Here within lies a tale of a young boy named James, which takes place in a far away island nation of Iceland."

Travel along with James up the mountain, soaring through the air with his friends he meets along the way to reach the moon.

Find Wendy on Facebook & Purchase on Amazon

Savannah's Story by Jodi Stone

All Savannah wants is for someone to play with her. When she asks her older sisters to play, they both turn her down. It's at that very moment when Savannah makes a wish that leads her on a magical that will lead her on a trip through her favorite dollhouse and floating on a cloud of bubbles. Follow along with Savannah as she realizes the true meaning of friendship and family.

Find Jodi on Facebook & Purchase on Amazon

Ethan's Story: My Life with Autism by Ethan Rice

When Ethan Rice was four years old, he was diagnosed with high-functioning autism. He decided that he wanted to tell his first grade class that he had autism on his seventh birthday. His parents asked him many questions about what having autism felt like for him and wrote his answers down as a reference for when he told his class. Those answers are now published so more people can understand what it is like to have autism. While each child on the spectrum has unique challenges and strengths, Ethan's Story; My Life with Autism is Ethan's own story.

Find Ethan on Facebook & Purchase on Amazon

Baby Jaimie Goes to the Hospital by Jaimie Hope

It's Baby Jaimie's last day of school and she is planning a fun summer with her friends. Her sister, Kelly also has big plans for her. How can Baby Jaimie be in two places at once? Not wanting to disappoint anyone Baby Jaimie tries to figure out a way to do everything, but falls asleep before she can come up with a plan. She's awoken a couple hours later with a sore throat. So instead of being with friends or her sister, Baby Jaimie's summer vacation will start out with a trip to the hospital. Follow Baby Jaimie as she goes to the hospital and has her tonsils removed.

Find Jaimie on Facebook & Purchase on Amazon

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, December 15, 2012

Spotlight Feature: The Fabulous Heather Hildenbrand

Two Reviews, As Well As A Giveaway of Book 3, Blood Bond!! In order to win, please leave a comment here on the blog!  A winner will randomly be chosen from those that leave a comment, thanking Heather for the giveaway!

Blurb for Dirty Blood:
I killed a girl last night. I did it with my bare hands and an old piece of pipe I found lying next to the dumpster. But that’s not the part that got me. The part that scared me, the part I can’t seem to wrap my head around and still has me reeling, was that when she charged me, her body shifted – and then she was a wolf. All snapping teeth and extended claws. But by the time I stood over her lifeless body, she was a girl again. That’s about the time I went into shock… And that was the moment he showed up. And even now there are two thoughts that are so clear, they feel branded into my mind: One, Werewolves do exist, and two, I was born to kill them.

The first time that I read Dirty Blood was well over a year ago.  It was one of the first e-books that I ever bought, and one of the reasons why I fell in love with the Indie world.  I just can’t believe that it has taken me this long to write a review for it.  But at least I was able to revisit a book that had a large influence on me and pulled me into a world that has literally changed my life.
Dirty Blood is one of those books that literally takes you on a ride.  From the moment that the reader meets Tara we know there is something strong within her; something different from a lot of female leads that we run across in other books.  She’s tough, yet vulnerable, which is a fine line to walk when creating a lead character.  Her world is shattered, thrown for a massive curve, and yet she pulls out and survives.  She’s a protagonist that we can all be proud of.
When she meets Wes, the intriguingly sexy werewolf she isn’t sure whether or not she can trust him, but she knows that she wants to be around him.  She’s drawn to him and his world of Hunters and Werewolves, as well as the bitter rivalry that is costing so many their lives.  Wes was my first book boyfriend.  Yes, I said it.  There is something so exciting about him.  You will fall in love with him as well.
If you haven’t read Dirty Blood yet, you’re seriously missing out.  I can honestly say that this book holds a special place in my heart and I am so happy that I was able to revisit a series that made my heart beat uncontrollably in my chest. 
Purchase: FREE on Amazon 

Blurb for Cold Blood:
Wood Point Academy is not at all what I expected. For one thing, it looks like a cross between military school and Buckingham Palace. Everyone stares, the floors shine so bright you can see your reflection in them from a mile away, and no one smiles. Unless they're kicking your butt in the process.
At least I've got plenty to take my mind off the fact that my psycho cousin, Miles De'Luca, keeps calling and declaring his love and promising to come for me just as soon as he's destroyed anyone standing in our way. Wes isn't going to like that idea. So between Miles, Wood Point's evil welcoming committee, and the drill sergeant hottie trainer from hell, I just keep asking myself, how did I end up here?

Cold Blood ranks right up there on my list with the first in the series, Dirty Blood.  Another book that I absolutely loved.  Once again, I had to read it again for a refresher, considering it has been over a year since I read it the first time.
This time Tara has finally left home in order to embrace her Hunter heritage.  Well, that and she laid the smack down on her nemesis at school, but that’s neither here nor there.  She has been relocated to a private school especially for training Hunters.  She is where she needs to be in order to fully train and to stay safe from the psycho Miles.  Only one problem: Wes can’t come with her. 
This is the ultimate test for Tara, especially considering how absolutely yummy Alex, her trainer, is.  This is an action packed book that doesn’t let go.  I was literally sucked in, both times that I read it.  Will Tara and The Cause be able to defeat Miles and make it safe for Tara to return home? Will they figure out who the traitor is among them?  And WHO will Tara choose?!? Wes or Alex?!? Yea, I went there.
This is yet another great book by an author who knows how to keep you up all night, turning pages, wondering where she’s going to take you next.  Now, I’m off to read book three, Blood Bond.  If you don’t hear from me for a while, you’ll know why.
Purchase: Amazon 

Author Bio:
Heather Hildenbrand was born and raised in a small town in northern Virginia where she was homeschooled through high school. She now lives in coastal VA, a few miles from the Atlantic Ocean, with her two adorable children. She works from home, part time, as a property manager and when she's not furiously pounding at the keyboard, or staring off into space whilst plotting a new story, she's lying on the beach, soaking in those delicious, pre-cancerous rays.
Heather loves Mexican food, hates socks with sandals, and if her house was on fire, the one thing she'd grab is her DVR player.
You can find out more about her and her books at

Or stalk her here:
Heather is a co-founder of Accendo Press, a publishing group she operates with fellow authors: Angeline Kace and Jennifer Sommersby. Accendo (a-CH-endo), A Latin word, means “to kindle, illuminate, inflame, or set fire.” This is something Accendo strives to do inside a reader’s imagination with every title released. For a complete list of titles and author bios, visit

Wednesday, December 12, 2012

Catherine Converse's The In Between Blog Tour

Two girls with opposing backgrounds join a secret intelligence agency located deep in the earth, where their psychic dreams are used to prevent murder. As the girls form a unique friendship, they begin to dream about the same serial case, triggering a chaos that spirals through the agency tunnels, and proves the lives they need to save are their own.

WOW!!  If I was asked to describe Catherine’s book in one word, WOW would be it!  Let’s face it, there is a lot of “paranormal” fiction out there these days, and a lot of it is really good.  But there are very few that allow you to connect to the characters the way that I was able to in Catherine’s novel The In Between.
When I first heard of the title, I wondered to myself “The In Between of what?”  Well, no more wondering, at least for me.  The novel details how two girls, young women, help stop crime in its tracks with their dreams.  It sounds like a little bit of an out-there concept, but Catherine really has a way with words.  I started out wondering just exactly how this was going to work and ended up sucked into the novel, staying up late to read and waking earlier, anxious to finish if I could.  There are a lot of things that go right for the girls, Adie and Dannika, but there is so much more that has the potential to go wrong.  How the two of them deal with it, and how the others in their lives help them along the way, combined with believable, engaging characters is what knocks this book out of the park.
I really want to tell you all about it, but that is the selfish part of me that wants to shout from the rooftops how much I enjoyed reading The In Between.  To truly understand what these girls go through, the ups and downs, trials and tribulations, you must, MUST, sit down and read it yourself.  It is really an experience unlike any other.  I laughed at times and at other I was biting my fingernails, praying that things would be alright.  I truly enjoyed reading The In Between and my hope is that you will purchase a copy and read for yourself.  And on that note, I wish you Happy Reading!

More info on The In Between:

Young Adult Sci-fi/Fantasy Action Suspense

Recommended Age Group
For Readers Aged 13 Years & Up

297 Pages

Golden Dot Publishing

Average Rating
4.5 of 5 Stars

What People Are Saying About It
"...immediately captivated. There are only a handful of books that
have done this to me in the past and they have become BLOCKBUSTER MOVIES
(Harry Potter Series, Twilight, and Hunger Games). I hold this book in
the same regards as these others...The imagination of this author is unbelievable!" -Amy Dewey, NC, Amazon Reviewer

"... a riveting page-turner filled with unexpected twists, action, suspense, raw
emotion, and thankfully some romance that is refreshingly engaging and
sincere. I'm eagerly awaiting the next adventure!" -Michael, MT. Amazon

"The way that the "Visionaries" can see the future and try to stop murders is very cool...and then it gets all twisty and action-packed. I was riveted to my Kindle from the first page to the last and OMG that was a crazy ending!! I need the next one NOW!" --Indie Book Reviewer

"..."FREAKINFFANTABULOUSLYAMAZING" I don't feel that totally says it about it, ...I loved this book, words can't describe my amazement towards it." -Cassie, Goodreads Reviewer

"The In Between takes you on a thrill ride reminiscent of The Matrix and The
Hunger Games. The author draws you in through the two widely disparate
lead find yourself breathless to see what happens
next." -- J. Lake, Montana

"I loved this book! I read so much YA paranormal/fantasy/ sci-fi it all starts to seem sorta the same after a while. Not with this book! Author Catherine Converse creates a wholly original world and characters that felt refreshingly new." --Indie Book Reviewer

"...Converse captures the reader's hearts with characters we can all relate to, while providing vivid descriptions of locations that makes you yearn to be there. You won't want to miss out on this exciting tale that easily warrants you to keep the pages turning."
-- K. Gardner, Montana

Book Trailer

Author Info

Catherine Converse lives with her husband and four amazing children in beautiful Montana. She studied Business at Carroll College and graduate work in Marketing Communications at West Virginia University. Her love of writing took off in her years working as a marketing consultant using creative writing to sell. Now she uses it to take readers on an adventure, or to share her passions. If not writing, seeking out readers, interacting and thanking her amazing supporters, or musing on motherhood chaos, Catherine loves most to be playing with her family – indoors and out, and focusing upward to show God her gratitude for such a blessed life.

Stalker Links:


Buy Links:


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, December 10, 2012

Blitz Day for the Fabulous Jennifer Malone Wright!

The Vampire Hunter’s Daughter: Complete Collection, by Jennifer Malone Wright

Jennifer Malone Wright
YA paranormal
Publisher: Self
Date of Publication:
June 2012
ISBN: 978-0615650081

Formats available: Paperback and Ebook.

Book Blurb:
This special edition of The Vampire Hunter’s Daughter contains parts I-VI, the complete collection. Fourteen-year-old Chloe witnesses her mother’s murder at the hands of a vampire. Before the vampire can kidnap her, there is an unexpected rescue by a group of vampire hunters.

Overwhelmed by the feeling of safety, Chloe passes out and they whisk her away to their small community. When Chloe wakes, she comes face to face with the only other living relative, besides her mother, whom she has ever met: her grandfather. Chloe’s mother kept her hidden from the family; now, Chloe tries to unveil the family secrets.

Through her grandfather, she learns her mother was a vampire hunter. In fact, her entire family is descended from the powerful bloodlines of vampire hunters. Chloe agrees to join the family she has never known for one reason only: Chloe vows to kill the vampire responsible for her mother’s murder. With vengeance in her soul, Chloe is even more determined to follow through on her vow when she discovers the true identity of her enemy and how he is connected to her.

Experience the world of vampire hunters, vampires and mythology with Chloe in this exciting series.

I took the first book off the stack and examined the cover. It was titled Vampires throughout History. The cover was leather and so old it was stiff and cracked in spots. The pages showed signs of age too, yellowing and stiff to the touch. There was no table of contents, so it looked like I was going to have to scan the entire book for what I was wanting. I flipped the pages carefully, so as not to tear any of them.
After an hour of scanning and about half way through the book, I found something referring to vampire children.
Although extremely rare, the natural-born offspring of vampires exist throughout the world. These rare beings are called the dhampir. Dhampir are usually the product of a vampire and mortal. The most common of these unions is a male vampire impregnating a mortal woman. Vampires, both male and female, are seductive in nature and some mortals came willingly to these unions. However, the majority of dhampir born were produced through an act of rape.
Solitary by nature, it is uncommon for a vampire to settle with any one mate for long. The children of vampires, the dhampir, more often than not exhibit all the characteristics of their vampire parent. The strength, speed and agility are the usual hereditary traits that the children develop. They are not always born with these traits but develop them as they grow into adulthood.
The dhampir are day walkers. Some of these children are sensitive to the sunlight but will not perish in the direct rays. Most have no sensitivity at all. Drinking the fresh blood of mortals is also not usually required of the dhampir; however, some have a liking for it. Very few actually need it to survive.
Most dhampir are rejected by the vampire species because of their mortality and weaknesses. Mortals often reject the dhampir, as well, due to their vampirism, so they frequently remain outcast.
Dhampir are known for becoming vampire killers. Their closeness to the vampires and their vampire characteristics make them powerful vampire hunters. The unique ability to track and kill vampires is specific to only the dhampir and the mythological race of vampire hunters.
Historically, dhampir became vampire hunters as a trade. Towns and villages became plagued by vampires who were terrorizing their homes and killing their people. The dhampir accepted contracts in exchange for monetary payment and used their likeness to their vampire counterparts to exterminate the vampires.
Holy crap, that was a lot to process. The more I read the passages, the more I understood that my being a hunter was more than my heritage; it was my history and my future. Everything about my bloodlines had hunters involved.

Author Bio:

Jennifer Malone Wright resides in the beautiful mountains of northern Idaho with her husband and five children. Between the craziness of taking care of her children, whose ages range from fourteen all the way down to six months, and being a homemaker, Jennifer has little time left for herself. The time she does have left, usually leading far into the night, is spent working on freelance work or her beloved fiction.
When she grew up, Jennifer always had her nose in a book. She has been writing stories and poems since grade school. This love of the written word and her strong interest in the paranormal is what has led to her first novel “The Birth of Jaiden.”
In addition to being a mother and homemaker, Jennifer is also a very proud military wife. Moving around the country for the last ten years has made her a bit of a nomad and she finds it difficult to be in one place for too long.
Jennifer is also the author of The Birth of Jaiden, a paranormal novel filled with action, suspense, and even a love story.

Stalker Links:
Buy Links: