Friday, March 29, 2013

The 20 Questions Spectacular!!! ~ Sophie Davis VS Madison Daniel ~

The 20 Questions Spectacular!!!
~ Sophie Davis VS Madison Daniel ~

1. Well hello there, Madison.  We’ll start off this game of 20 Questions with an easy one: How much of you is in Max, your protagonist in the Ember series?

MD: Probably about 50% me, 50% rockstar superhero. Ember and the character of Max were the first things I created in literary form (back in 2008), and at the time, I was told to “write what you know...” Well, that’s what I did. And all I really KNOW is 80’s movies, comic books, music and the awkwardness of teenage angst. Ha.
SD: I can totally picture you as Nicolas Cage in that 80’s cinematic masterpiece, Valley Girl ;)  Hahaha, I hope our readers look up the cover!  (kidding, kidding)

2. How about you, Sophie? How much of yourself goes into the stories you create?

SD:  Talia, the main character in Talented has some similarities, both physical and in personality.  But I have other characters that have a lot more of me in them, and some with a lot of my closest friends.

3. I know that Max has trouble choosing between the two female characters in Ember; how much of a ladies man were you in high school?

MD: Hmmm...tough question. There were two versions of me back in school, the easy-going, soft-spoken, frontman to my local rock band AND then there was the shy, awkward, hopeless romantic, that just wanted to connect with that “one” special person. Let me put it this way, I looked like the kind of boy your father would hate for you to bring home, but was actually the exact kind of young man your parents always told you to look for. Basically, a ‘good boy’ in a ‘bad boys’ body.
SD: Haha, so a wolf in sheep’s clothing?  Nice.  Sounds like my kind of guy now, though back in those days I would have gone for the straight-up wolf.

4.            All right, describe your teenage experience in 10 words or less...GO. :)

SD:  Fun, embarrassing, bad decision making, some of my favorite years!

5. Tell us about your first girlfriend.

MD: Enlightening, artistic, challenging and smelled like strawberries. That’s all you’re getting...hehehe.
SD: Strawberries… now why does that sounds familiar?  Ohhh, right, that’s Samantha from Ember’s scent…you heard it here first ladies- we found Madison’s kryptonite!

6. Tell us about your LAST relationship. BOOM.

SD:  It’s a tragic tale of love, Madison.  We first met in college, where we bonded over dirty dishes and pickles – we worked at a sandwich place.  I fell in love with his long hair and angry attitude, not sure what he saw in me, but I did wait tables in some very short shorts.  While it was obvious we both pined for the other, we never professed our love.  I left our small college town for D.C., while he headed south to warmer weather – Miami to be exact.  He married a Brazilian supermodel.  I got a Master’s degree.  He divorced the Brazilian supermodel.  I got a law degree.  And then if finally seemed like the right time to get together.  Unfortunately, our mutual attraction only existed in theory.  In reality, we had nothing in common.  So after a year of flying back and forth between DC and Miami, we parted ways.  Since then, only one boy sleeps in my bed, my Benji look-alike, Humphrey.

7. Who were you most nervous to have read your first book?

MD: He hasn’t read it yet. So, I can’t answer that question just yet. BUT it’s always nerve-racking to show your words to your family.

8. What was the most surprising reaction you received after showing your work to the ones closest to you, good or bad?

SD:  My uncle called my mother to tell her how funny the first book was.  He said I must have a terrific sense of humor.  The only problem is, the book wasn’t supposed to be funny…

9. Do you have a writing outfit?  Do you get dressed every day when you’re working on a novel, or are you the ratty bathrobe, holey boxers type?
MD: I’m definitely a jeans and T-shirts kind of guy. Casual, yet proper. Nothing feels as good as a nicely worn, old pair of jeans.

10. Your perfect location to work, write, and play...the beach? Or the park?

SD:  The beach.  I recently went to a destination wedding in St. Croix and I spent the majority of my time sitting on the beach with my HUGE laptop, writing.  It was the best week of my life.

11. What was it like writing from the perspective of a teenage girl?

MD: I love it. I’ve only done it a little bit, in the Ember series. BUT I’m actually working on an all new series from the perspective of a teenage girl. Honestly, I think boys and girls are fundamentally made up of all the same ingredients. Fear, love, acceptance and the joy of discovering something new. We just process those ideas a little differently, that’s all.

12. What’s your favorite character emotion to write about in your stories?

SD:  Hmmmm.  Hard one.  Oddly I’m going to say anger.  I think about every time the parking attendants ticket my car at 7:01 (it has to be moved at 7:00am for street cleaning), just as I am running outside in my pajamas to move it, and I put all of that frustration at the parking people into my characters.

13. How have you found the transition from writing songs to writing out whole novels?  Did any of your books start as songs, but then you realized that the story needed to be told in depth?

MD: They’re quite different. There is a similarity in the layout and structure building though. My song writing is usually based around the song title or the groove or hook of the song AND I’ve found that my stories come to me the same way. Either a title sets me in the direction of the story I am writing or the main plot twist or hook decides the path I choose. Great question!

14. Any favorite bands? Songs? Music inspiration?

SD:  Definitely the Foo Fighters; I even traveled across the pond last fall just to see them play at the Reading Festival!  They played a three-hour set and I was in heaven.  I’ve also been known to rap Biggie Smalls in some of my finer moments.  In general, though, I listen to a lot of different music for inspiration when I write.  I have playlists for books, scenes, characters, you name it.

15. What are the worst song lyrics you’ve ever written?

MD: Ha. Probably something to do with “big butts.” Just kidding. :)
        SD: Those other brothers can’t deny…

16. Any literary crushes? Favorite authors or books?

SD:  I don’t think I have any literary crushes right now- that special place in my heart reserved for character crushes is all Agent Derrick Morgan from Criminal Minds.  Favorite authors, hmm, there are a lot.  Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and Mary Higgins Clark are my old standbys.  I read just about any new book they put out, regardless of whether it sounds good.

17. What is your biggest quirk?

MD: I’m a bit of a gadget whore. I’m always chasing after the newest electronics. I think it has something to do with all the pretty lights! I’m also addicted to eyedrops. The stronger the better. Not too weird, I hope.
SD: Me too!  My best friend and I always crack up about the ridiculous number of chargers we have to pack every time we take a trip.  It’s a far cry from when we backpacked around Europe, carrying around paperbacks and –gasp!- sans cell phones.  As for the eyedrops… yeeeah, totally normal…

18. What’s the nicest thing you’ve ever done for a complete stranger?

SD:  Wow, really making me dig deep for this one.  I guess the nicest thing I’ve ever done for a complete stranger is pay for difference when she didn’t have enough money for the bill at Target.

19. If you had a helicopter, what would you name it?

MD: Easy! “THE REAPER!” Why? Because when someone says they’re scared to fly in my chopper I can jump up and scream... “DON’T FEAR THE REAPER!” That would rock! No? Okay then, how about “Hank.” Yah, I like Hank. Come fly the friendly skies with me and Hank. Word.
        SD: Best. Answer. Ever.  Definitely stick with the first one- more cowbell, anyone?

20. If I offered to fly you anywhere in my helicopter, where would you like to go the most?

SD:  Can you take a helicopter from here to Switzerland?  My favorite place in the world is Interlaken, Switzerland.  You can run off the top of an Alp with a parachute and spend 10 minutes just floating down.  You can also be pushed off of one in a big rubber ball- it’s called Zorbing- but I drew the line at that.

Sophie, I just wanted to take a second to thank you for sharing your thoughts with me and our readers. This interview was a blast! You’ve been fantastic to get to know. I see great and epic things ahead for you. I’m sure your fans think the same. Let’s do this again! Write on! Rock on!

~ M

Thanks Madison!  And thank you for taking the time to answer my questions; we’ll definitely have to do it again.  I wish you continued success with your books and music!

I’d also like to give a shout out to Derinda Love over at YATR- she made it possible to get this out to our readers on all of these amazing blogs, and she donated the gorgeous charms bracelets with our book covers (made by Cassie Chavez over at Cassie’s Crafty Creations!)

Now let’s give away some prizes!

Sophie <3

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, March 28, 2013

Inhale Exhale Teaser, by Sarah M. Ross!

Inhale Exhale, a New Adult Contemporary romance from author Sarah M. Ross, releases May 7th.

Check out the BLURB:
Jillian had a plan: celebrate the end of her first year of college with an amazing summer full of beaches, barbeques, and bonfires. When her mom insists she needs a summer job, and her boyfriend spends more time with his band than with her, Jillian’s plans go down the drain.
Grant had a plan: finish his Masters, get a great job at Google, and get the hell out of Georgia. He might be giving up some of the fun of his youth, but he knows his all work and no play method would be worth it when his dreams came true.
But things never go according to plan.
When temptation brings them together and tragedy tears them apart, Jillian and Grant will be forced to choose: fight for their dreams, or fight for each other.

Wanna read more? Here’s an excerpt:
“Are you sure you’re not breaking it just so I can come back out here? Cause if you want to see me, you don’t have to break expensive equipment to get my attention,” Grant asked earlier that day.
It was the third time I’d had to call IT, and the third time I’d gotten to see the mischievous smile on his face as he walked toward me.
“No, I promise you. I really am this dumb.” I winked playfully, allowing myself to flirt for a minute. It was harmless, right? I’d never actually act on it.
“I’m pretty sure the fact you can say that sentence in several other languages suggests otherwise.”
“Sono davvero questo stupido,” I repeated in Italian.
Grant ran a knuckle down my arm, leaving a trail of goose bumps along the path. “Beautiful,” he said in a whispered breath. My own breathing hitched at his words. “See? Like I said, not a dumb bone in you.”
The all-too-familiar blush crept back onto my face. “You don’t know me that well.”
“I’d like to change that. What are you doing tonight? A bunch of us from work are going to this beach party. I’d love it if you could come.”
For a moment, I pictured myself there. Laughing and having fun around a bonfire and splashing in the ocean. Grant in his board shorts that would hang low, revealing that deep V I was sure was there. But then I snapped out of it, remembering how inappropriate my thoughts were. “I have a boyfriend. I can’t.”
“It’s not a date, Jillian. Just a group of friends hanging out.” He packed up his supplies, but paused before leaving. He stared deeply into my eyes, making my palms sweat. Leaning in close, he whispered in my ear. “If I were asking you out, it wouldn’t be with a group of people. It would be only us—alone—so I wouldn’t have anything from distracting me from admiring every nook and cranny on your beautiful face, Cupcake.”
I swallowed down the lump that formed in my throat. My mouth had gone dry; I was unable to form a thought, let alone words.
“Here.” He reached out and gently took my hand. “I’ll do this old school since you don’t like technology.”
My mouth opened, but I couldn’t respond. I stared at him as he took out a pen. He picked up my tiny hand, which shook slightly, and held it in his own. The contact was slight, but powerful. I was frozen in place as he wrote on my palm. The only movement came from my heart that pounded in my chest. Before he let go, he gently blew on the ink to help it dry, causing me to emit the faintest of moans.
“In case you change your mind,” he whispered, then winked and walked away.

Be sure to add this to your Goodreads page:

To find out more about Sarah and her books, stalk her here:
Twitter: SarahtheAuthor

Saturday, March 23, 2013

Heather Hildenbrand's Imitation Blog Tour

Today we welcome the wonderful Heather Hildenbrand to our blog as part of the stop in her Imitation blog tour!  She has prepared a fantastic guest post for your viewing pleasure, and we have a review on the novel as well!  So, without further ado, we are going to turn it over to Heather!

Heather: Thanks R&M!  
A few days ago, I did a post on women’s fashion and how it’s portrayed in my new YA dystopian, Imitation. You can read that post here if you’re curious because some of the dress possibilities outright scared me. To keep it even, I decided to do a post on men’s fashion in the book world of Imitation. Not quite as “out there” as the women, or at least, not the way I picture it. Then again, when I Googled “men’s futuristic fashion” this came up:

*stares uncomprehendingly* *shakes head* I don’t picture that. For me, the men in Imitation wear suits most days, so I think it would be something like this: 

Titus, Daniel, Caine… I can picture all of them in something like this. So this works for me. 
And then there’s Linc. *cue steamy music* He’s casual, doesn’t wear suits, or not if he can help it. He rides a motorcycle, wears denim even though it’s considered retro in this futuristic setting, and wouldn’t be caught dead in a pair of loafers. I call his style “laid-back-sexy.” I think it looks something like this:

*licks computer screen* I have to say, I’m a fan of this style, present and future ;)

Everyone is exactly like me. 
There is no one like me. 

The rough fabric of my cotton nightgown chafes so I lie very still. They say my discomfort comes from being built like one accustomed to niceties. How is that fair when I myself have never experienced anything but copies of the real thing? 

My entire life is an imitation. 
I am an Imitation. 

I’ve been here five years. Training. Preparing. Waiting.
And now I have a letter.
My assignment has begun. 
I am a prisoner.
I am not Raven Rogen.
I am here to die.


Heather Hildenbrand’s Imitation is a novel like no other than I have read recently.  It is the story of Ven, a young woman who is an Imitation, sent to take the place of her Authentic.  In this world, a line is drawn between those that are naturally born, or Authentic, and those who are not, the Imitations.  Ven must take the place of Raven Rogen, a woman that ven herself does not know but instinctively despises as she immerses herself into the role that she must play. 
To tell you more about the overall plot line would be a crime, as this is a book definitely worth reading.  The characters are well thought out and it is extremely easy to identify with the situations and emotions that they go through. 
I loved Ven, in that she moves from confused and scared about everything, to finally learning the truth of her existence and that everything she knew to be true was a lie.  Instead of the information breaking her, it makes her stronger and determined to make a difference in the world, a world that has become even more corrupt and chaotic then the world that we live in today.
I think that this novel addresses some very real concerns that people have about moving forward with human cloning, and it is done in such a way that truly does make you think about it objectively.  This novel one potential what-if scenarios that could take place if human cloning was to take place.  Would they be human, or would they be something else?  And ultimately, is it the right thing to do?
I thoroughly enjoyed this novel from start to finish.  The level of emotion that I felt, well, it was overwhelming at times.  I get a mushy ooh-la-la feeling about Linc, strong and immovable, but gentle and loving, with just a touch of wild…oh boy!  Yum!  Titus I learned to hate, and while I wanted to hate Gus, as the story continues to unfold, I felt sorry for him.
I truly hope to see more of this story soon, as I am now on pins and needles to discover if Ven will succeed in her mission.  Will she and Linc stay together?  And ultimately, what will happen to the Imitations, will there be any justice for them and will Titus pay for what he has done to everyone?
Those answers and more, well, I guess I will have to wait for the sequel.  But I encourage you to pick up a copy of Imitation and join Ven and Linc in their journey.  Then you too can anxiously await the conclusion to their story, as I am myself.  Until then, happy reading!

About the Author:

Heather Hildenbrand was born and raised in a small town in northern Virginia where she was homeschooled through high school. She now lives in coastal VA, a few miles from the Atlantic Ocean, with her two adorable children. She works from home, part time as a property manager, and when she's not furiously pounding at the keyboard, or staring off into space whilst plotting a new story, she's lying on the beach, soaking in those delicious, pre-cancerous rays.

Heather loves Mexican food, hates socks with sandals, and if her house was on fire, the one thing she'd grab is her DVR player.

You can find out more about her and her books at

Buy Links:
Amazon UK
Barnes & Noble 

Stalker Links:
Facebook Fan Page 

Wednesday, March 20, 2013

Blog Tour: Amity Hope's Twisted!

About the Book:
Maya Anderson has faced more than her share of tragedy and heartbreak. For the past six years she’s constantly been on the move with her mom. When another disaster strikes, she finds herself back in her childhood hometown of Beaumont, living with her older sister for her senior year.
A chance meeting reacquaints her with Ben McCaffey, a long-forgotten classmate from her past. After the death of his girlfriend, Ben has become a social outcast. He’s despised by some and feared by most.
Determined to become Ben’s friend, Maya begins to break through his layers of emotional protection. It isn’t long before they realize that they both have secrets in their pasts. As the line between dealing with grief and struggling with a desire for revenge begins to fade, the secrets that draw them together may be what will ultimately tear them apart. Because the closer Maya gets to Ben, the more dangerous her situation becomes. 


I went about reading this book in a different way than I do most.  I didn’t read any reviews on it and I didn’t bother to even look at the blurb.  I wanted to go in with a completely open mind.  I’m glad that I did because this book had my mind reeling the entire way through.  There were some very sweet moments, as well as some touching moments, but the parts that really struck a nerve with me and made it memorable were the darker ones. 
I won’t rehash the plot in my review, but I will point out some high points that I liked.  First, the character of Maya was extremely likeable.  She didn’t let others’ opinions of Ben influence what she felt towards him.  She was strong and resilient, something that needs to be seen more in YA novels.  I wouldn’t mind having someone like her in my corner, that’s for sure.
Then you have Ben.  He’s one of those guys that you want to hold and tell him that everything will be alright.  You want to make things better for him.  That’s exactly what Maya does, but it ends up back firing on her on more than one occasion.  Ben is one of those male leads that you wish you knew in real life. Sweet, caring, and unfortunately, damaged.  But all the great male leads are damaged in one way or another, right?
Now, there were a few characters in this book that left me with a bitter taste in my mouth.  Hailey is one of them.  She’s seen flitting through scenes carelessly throughout the entire book, but I didn’t feel as if she had a true impact on the story or the other characters. She just wasn’t one of my favorites. 
Overall, this book was quite enjoyable.  I would definitely recommend this book to everyone that I know.  It has its dark moments, its romantic moments, and a whole lot of danger and intrigue.  You should definitely add this book to your to be read list.
Author Bio:
I live in Minnesota with my two sons, two cats and our Rottweiler named Daisy.
 I have been a book-addict my entire life. I have always enjoyed reading and writing stories just for fun. In 2012 I decided to try self-publishing. To my delight and dismay, my debut novel took off. Since then, I have been fortunate enough to write full-time.
 If I'm not writing or spending time with my kids, I'm most likely reading. 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, March 19, 2013

The Unraveling of Avery Snow, by Christy Sloat Blog Tour

Book Blurb:

As Avery Snow settles into her life and relationships with those around her, she fights to forget her past lives. All of which she spent with Landon, who still has no recollection of who she really is. It seems better that way. Even though she still feels a draw to his soul, she chooses to ignore it.

For now everything is fine. Her boyfriend, Dallas, has opened a new restaurant. Her friends, Ianni and Kerri, are settling into their lives as well. But when news of a new Dark Guide is revealed, Avery is forced to start thinking about the life she truly leads. One that is very abnormal. One she is desperate to forget. This Dark Guide is determined to make Avery pay for the death of someone she held dear.

Now Avery’s life has gone from seemingly perfect to falling apart. What will be at stake next? Her life? Her love? And who will be there in the end to help her up off the ground?

Even the strongest love can unravel.

Will Avery be able to hold it all together, or will she just let go?

I knocked on the door, trying to ignore the bad feeling in my stomach. Butterflies danced around and my palms were sweaty. I wasn’t sure this was going to go over well with Dallas, but I knew what I was doing. The door opened and the sun shone in his blue eyes.
“Hey, what are you still doing in town?” Landon asked as he shielded his eyes from the sun.
“Long story, here’s the short version. Pack your bags, Dallas can’t go so you’re coming with me,” I said as I pushed myself into the house. He stood at the door, dumbfounded no doubt. “Let’s go because we don’t have much daylight left.”
“Wait a second. You’re taking me on your little getaway? Why?” He stood in front of me, his hair a complete disaster and looking every bit the lost little puppy. I knew it was crazy, but Dallas said it himself, Landon was a zombie lately. He needed to get away as much as I did.
“You heard me right. You are my friend, am I correct?”
“Yeah, but …”
“No buts. We are going to be staying at the Monterey Ocean Resort. We will wine and dine and have spa treatments. You will like it. Trust me, you need it,” I admitted.
“Wait, why do I need it?” he asked with caution.
“You are sleeping in your car, Landon. Need I say more?” He thought for a second before answering me, and then a smile grew on his face.
“Nope.” He walked up the stairs and turned around quickly. “One thing. Can we get mani pedi’s?” he asked jokingly. Laughing, I nodded.
“Of course.”
It didn’t take Landon long to pack. Honestly I didn’t think he brought more than two outfits. His small bag sat in the back seat. I knew Landon to love his clothes. He was always dressed to impress, but lately he was becoming more like me: jeans and t-shirts. The sun started to lower over the Pacific Ocean as we headed down the highway. I noticed Landon staring out at the view so I pulled over at an observation point. We sat for a few minutes to soak up the view, neither one of us saying a word. Then I continued onward toward our hotel.

Book Trailer:

I have to say this first, I was already a super fan of this author before I read this, but I am even more in love with her writing now. Avery is fighting to keep herself in check, dealing with her love of Dallas, and her known destiny of being with Landon. Landon no longer has memories of loving Avery, but she still holds all of the keys to the puzzle in her heart. It’s heart breaking to watch as Dallas keeps disappointing Avery, and Landon keeps popping back into the picture. Ahhh to have two men in your life, huh?

There are more nefarious beings at work though. There is a dark force that is stalking Avery, waiting for her. Ianni is no longer Avery’s Spirit Guide, but she is still a huge part of her life. I absolutely loved the romance in this book, as well. Avery and Dallas make an adorable couple, when they aren’t fighting. But it was hard to sit back and watch because we all know (if you read the first book!  ) that she’s destined to be with Landon! Grrrr!

My suggestion to you? Make sure that you read The Unraveling of Avery Snow! Because this poor girl goes through hell and back to keep herself sane. I’ve never been the mushy type, but I have to say that this book really pulled at my heart. It’s a fantastic read, filled with romance, action, deception, betrayal...everything that really pulls you in to a great book. Christy Sloat did a great job of keeping the momentum going throughout the book, and her characters felt like I had known them my entire life.

So...what are you waiting for? I’m done now. Go get the first one if you don’t have it already! I’ll wait....*taps foot* Got it? Awesome. Grab this one as soon as you can as well! You HAVE to know how far Avery will unravel, and if she’ll be able to hold on to what she holds close to her heart.

About the Author:
Christy Sloat is a SoCal born girl who
resides in New Jersey currently with her husband, two daughters and Sophie her
Chihuahua. Christy has embraced the love of reading and writing since her youth
and was inspired by her grandmother’s loving support. Christy passes that love
of reading, writing, and creativity to her daughters, family, and friends. When
you do not find Christy within the pages of a book you can find her being
mommy, wife, crafter, and dear friend. She loves adventurous journeys with her
friends and can be known to get lost inside a bookstore. Be sure to venture
into her Past Lives Series, The Visitor’s Series, and watch for many more
exciting things to come.
Check out her website
Facebook: Christy Sloat Author
Twitter: ChristySloat

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, March 12, 2013

The Lonely, by Tara Brown: Blog Tour!

We are so excited to be a part of this blog tour for Tara Brown! She is one of my favorite authors and this book is fantastic! Make sure you check it out!

The Lonely
The truth is subjective to what the lonely lets in.
Emalyn Spicer has lived with it for a long time. She thinks it goes back further than her memories do. She knows it goes back further than the OCD.
When she arrives at college, her OCD's and the lonely refuse to let her have her wish to be normal.
When she meets Sebastian and starts to fall for him, she lets herself believe it's possible to outrun the things chasing her from the past. But how to you get away from the things inside of you? How do you run from yourself?
Just as she gives up and succumbs to the lonely, the unthinkable happens. She finds herself once again trapped in the dark, once again held against her will.
This time she meets the lonely head on. In the darkest corners of her mind, she discovers there is more to her world than she ever imagined. She discovers that the lonely was there for her, protecting her from herself and her secrets.
How far would you go to find yourself?
This is a dark and captivating novel, tread lightly
Don't forget to check out the companion novel due out in the summer of 2013, The Lost Boy. Maybe that'll help you sort out the things you have leftover from the story...

This book is rated 19+ due to extreme sexual and language content!

Buy Links: 

First off, I already knew Tara Brown was epic. Seriously epic. Her books are always amazing. But THIS one?!? OMG! This was completely different than her other books. I was beyond blown away.

Em has been suffering her whole life from the lonely. That, and the crippling OCD. Combine the two? Yea, her life has been a mess of problems. She's off to college for the first time, hoping, praying, that the lonely doesn't overtake her. She just wants to be normal. Her best friend is there with her, helping her adjust, and pushing her towards overcoming her issues.

When she meets Sebastian, it's like someone finally understands her. He's hot (OMG HOT!) and doesn't let her minor freak outs bother him. He's one of those guys who is just awesome in his own right. But there's a problem: Em is still seriously messed up. And she doesn't think she can ever get close to him. :(

When she gets pulled back into that dark, dank hole, where the lonely is king, things start to go haywire. I seriously won't say anything else about it though. Other than to tell you that there are some dark moments in this book. And some rather kinky moments as well. But that's what makes it real. This is the nitty gritty and once you've read this book, you'll have a completely different outlook on life. Or, I did.

I have to say, I felt an immediate connection to Em. I have suffered from OCD for most of my life, and I know how problematic it can be. Tara Brown hit the nail on the head with this character. I felt like I could really relate to her on a personal basis. So, thank you Tara Brown. Thank you for creating a character who's just as messed up (well, she's wayyy more messed up then me) and neurotic as the rest of us. If you're looking for an EPIC book, grab this one. You'll be begging for more by the end.

About the Author:
I am not going to talk in the third person. It feels weird.
I am a Canadian author of Paranormal Romance, Post Apocalyptic and Fantasy novels. Mostly because I think I have Writers ADD, I like to call it WADD. It might be a real thing.
I write New Adult, my books have sexual content (Heck yes) and Swearing. You have been warned. Now enjoy!
I have a beagle named Buster, a husband who I force to read everything I write and two girls who want so badly to be a character in my books. And not in that order.
I am mid thirties so be prepared for the chick lit novel this year. I am calling it my Ode to my Midlife Crisis.
I have been writing since I was old enough to lie. So for some time.
Welcome to my world. Please enjoy the ride.

Stalker Links: 

Monday, March 11, 2013

Don't Kill Dinner Blog Tour

Title: Don’t Kill Dinner
Series: The Rules Trilogy
Author: Jennifer Martinez
Genre: Urban Fantasy/New Adult Paranormal (Mature audiences only. Mild to moderate swearing and damn sexy sexual situations)
Page Length: 170
Release Date: March 15, 2013
Tour Organizer: B3 Tours

**Notes: The first day proceeds of Don’t Kill Dinner will be donated to Rain Pet Rescue of Fort Myers. They take in animals from High Kill shelters throughout Florida. This is my adoption agency of choice and I am a proud supporter of adopting your family members.**
Rain on Facebook:
Rains webpage:

“I love you Kenna and I will never lose you. I promise.”

Official Blurb:
There are three rules when it comes to being a vampire in New Orleans. 1) Don’t kill dinner. 2) Don’t feed from people you know. 3) Don’t tell anyone. Not too hard, right? Wrong. Kenna is a new vampire filled with a passion that has turned into an uncontrollable lust for blood.
 Will Arthur be able to stop her feeding spree before the coven comes after her or is Kenna beyond saving?

Arthur has been watching Kenna for years, wanting her to try her own hand in life before he gave her the ultimate proposal. Now that she has accepted, will his love be enough to save her?

I would have never known that this book was written by a first time author.  The story was creative and well written.  The characters were flawed and endearing; drawing the reader into their lives without a backward glance.  I haven’t been reading very much paranormal lately, instead reading more New Adult.  This was a refreshing combo of the two.  There’s the OMG hotness mixed with the fact that the Vampires are pretty awesome
This debut author has truly rocked my socks and I can’t wait for the next book in the series. This is truly a book that NEEDS to be on your TBR list! If not, you’re really missing out on something EPIC.

About the Author:

One day while slaving away at her monotonous day job, Jennifer Martinez found her true calling. Like a firefly in the night, the pages called to her. Once she caught the bug there was no stopping it. Her fingers flew furiously across the keyboard winding tales of love, mystery and anger. She snapped out of her reverie to find herself still behind the desk but at least she knew who she was… Author Jennifer Martinez.
I like to think of myself as a beautiful conundrum. When I am not writing, I can be found surrounded by my amazing family and 4 dogs or volunteering at a local animal rescue. I love who I am and don’t mind at all when I get strange looks from people. I am a tattoo covered, child and animal lover who looks forward to destroying peoples preconceived notions of what “someone like me” would be interested in. You only live life once… you may as well make it interesting.
I love to get lost in a good book and hope that everyone will get lost in mine.

Stalker Links: