Tuesday, January 29, 2013

Love And War, Arcadia Falls Review and Blitz

Love & War: The Arcadia Falls Chronicles, Book 1

Book Blurb:
A war is brewing between the hunters and the vampires and Chloe is determined to strike against the vampires before they have a chance to attack the hunter community.

While Chloe tries to convince the hunter community, and most especially tries to convince Drew, that they should move against the vampires first instead of waiting for an attack, the group of new friendsOscar, Alice, Drew, Chloe and Christinaare distracted by news reports of a vigilante who is saving innocent humans against what can only be vampire attacks. Fearing this vigilante will cause unwanted attention that will expose the vampire-hunter community with each person he rescues, the group attempts to discover who this mysterious potential vampire hunter is.

When they catch up with him, the group learns a shocking revelation that might just change everything for everyone in Arcadia Falls, but will have the most profound impact on Chloe herself.

The Arcadia Falls Chronicles is the continuation of The Vampire Hunters Daughter. Following the format of The Vampire Hunters Daughter, The Arcadia Falls Chronicles is serialized into several novella-length stories.

Review:
I have been anxiously awaiting this book to find out what happens next for Chloe and Drew.  I have to say, it was definitely worth the wait.  The author is a fantastic storyteller, pulling us right back into the action without missing a beat. 
If you have read The Vampire Hunters Daughter, then this is a natural next step for you.  The stakes are higher, the characters are amazing, and let me just say this......OMG. Loved it!  I honestly thought that since there was such an extended time between releases that I would have to reread the first books, but it came right back to me.
Theres something about this series that just sucks you in.  I would highly recommend picking it up and seeing where it takes you.  Youre in for a wild ride!

About the Author:



Jennifer Malone Wright resides in the beautiful mountains of northern Idaho with her husband and five children. Between the craziness of taking care of her children, whose ages range from fifteen all the way down to one year, and being a homemaker, Jennifer has little time left for herself. The time she does have left, usually leading far into the night, is spent working on freelance work or her beloved fiction.

When she grew up, Jennifer always had her nose in a book. She has been writing stories and poems since grade school. This love of the written word and her strong interest in the paranormal is what has led to her first novel "The Birth of Jaiden," and her new series "The Vampire Hunter's Daughter."

In addition to being a mother and homemaker, Jennifer is also a very proud military wife. Moving around the country for the last eleven years has made her a bit of a nomad and she finds it difficult to be in one place for too long.


Seven Years of Bad Luck by J.L. Mac Blog Tour


Seven Years of Bad Luck Blog Tour

We here at R&M are proud to be a part of this blog tour!  So, please enjoy the spotlight on this wonderful book!

Blurb:


When twenty-six year old Kathleen Cooper realizes that she forfeited her dreams and aspirations of becoming a lawyer after a brash decision to run off and marry the insanely charming Aidan Cooper, she decides to regain what she lost over the course of their seven-year relationship and start fresh.
With a renewed sense of hope and determination, she moves to a different city, lands a new job, and meets the handsome Benjamin Chase in a serendipitous way.
But even with all of these changes and hopes of gaining a new life, Kathleen is still not happy with the person she sees in the mirror staring back at her. She is an insomniac. She generally has bad luck in just about everything she attempts. She’s clumsy, and even if Prince Charming fell into her lap, she would likely push him in the opposite direction, for fear of getting hurt or worse, hurting someone else. This time she can’t blame any of these things on her bad luck or her destructive marriage. This time, it’s not her heart that’s in danger. This time, she has much more to lose and everything to gain.
Will she realize her mistakes in time to repair the damage? Will she be able to reverse her shattered self-image and discover true happiness? Will she ever find her way back to the person she was before seven years of bad luck?


About the author:

J.L. Mac is twenty-six years old and currently resides in El Paso, Texas, where she enjoys living near her parents and siblings. She was born and raised in Galveston, Texas, until she married her husband in July of 2005. She has two young children and is married to a soldier in the United States Army. J.L. and her family have lived all over the United States and have enjoyed each new experience in each new place. J.L. admittedly has had a long and sordid love affair with the written word and has loved every minute of it. She drinks too many glasses of wine on occasion,and says way too many swear words to be considered “lady-like.” J.L. spends her free time reading, writing, and playing with her children.


**GIVEAWAY**
There’s a signed eBook copy of Seven Years of Bad Luck complete with swag up for grabs! All you have to do is leave a blog comment and enter below. Winner will be verified.
CLICK HERE TO ENTER


To follow the rest of the tour:

Monday, January 28, 2013

Review of Sephy Rides the Storms by Fiona King


*This book contains mature content and adult language and is not recommended for readers under the age of 18!*

Book Blurb:

You wouldn’t think it to look at Katherine Willis but she is dangerous. Beneath her apparently homely exterior, storms are raging. Katherine is angry, bitter and unloved. Abandoned by her broken lover, James McKenzie, Katherine’s rage grows. For those who are vulnerable, any encounter with her is unfortunate. Lucky then, that she has no children.
Unhappily for them, however, when James McKenzie walked away, he left behind 14 year old Danny and six year old Sephy. Katherine already knows their weaknesses, how best to hurt them. They are the perfect victims. She can think of a thousand ways to wound them and she has no reservations about putting her ideas into practise.
Sephy rides the storms, examines the often hidden phenomena of child abuse. The story tells of the strength and courage of survivors and also investigates some of the scars which may never heal.
Will the love and support of a friend they meet along the way enable Danny and Sephy to live a happy life? Will Danny be able to find his way out of the darkness? Will Sephy be able to ride all of the storms?
The book contains adult themes and some strong language.


Review:

Sephy Rides the Storms has to be one of the hardest books that I have read in recent memory.  Not because it is a bad novel or anything of that nature, but because of the content of the story itself.  This book is about abuse,  and abuse in the worst possible sense, abuse of children.  This novel highlights the plight that thousands of children find themselves in and their abusers.
The story is about Sephy and her brother Danny, who are relatively young in the beginning, Sephy being around the age of six and her brother a teenager.  They have been abandoned by their father and left with a sadistic woman who derives great pleasure in torturing the children in a variety of ways, whether it is beatings or sexual assault.  Like I said, it is hard to read, but it does get better as you move through the book. 
In essence Sephy and Danny become the lucky ones, as their circumstances change in just a few short years, thanks to the kindness of a stranger and the grandmother they never knew existed.  The story is heart-wrenching, moving you to tears as you read about the pain and suffering that these two endure.  But it does not stop there.  It also gives us a glimpse into the personal hell that someone who has been subjected to abuse lives with for the rest of their life.  Abuse has a way of changing people, some use it as an excuse to perpetuate the cycle, while others, like Sephy and Danny, live with it in the back of their minds, struggling to forge close ties with people, dealing with depression, and trying as hard as they can just to live.
The book is very moving and in some ways terrifying, but it is definitely worth the time it would take to sit and read it.  Maybe, through this novel, we can better recognize some of the patterns of abuse and strive to make a change for our children.  Read the book and then pay attention to the children around you, whether they are students, friends of your children, nieces, nephews, cousins, whoever.  Let this book make you an advocate for change!


About the author:

Fiona King was born in Hong Kong in 1967. Her father was originally from Forfar, Scotland. He was in the Royal Navy and died shortly after she was born. Her mother then returned to Warwickshire, England where she has lived for most of her life. She is married with two step children.
Fiona has always enjoyed writing and has just published her first novel 'Sephy Rides the Storms'. The book is a fictional work detailing abuse and its long term effects. Fiona works in learning disability support and part of her role has entailed raising awareness about abuse so this is a subject which is close to her heart.
She is now working on her second book which she envisages will be a paranormal romance. She had the same thoughts about the first book, however, but it never really turned out that way so we will see.
She also enjoys walking, festivals and music.

Connect with the author via the following links:
Blog 

To purchase a copy of Sephy Rides the Storms



Sunday, January 27, 2013

Cover Reveal! Opposites, by TM Smith!


Opposites
Author TM Smith
Tentative release date; March of 2013
Genre: Adult Dystopian

Calendar year 2081. Our planet has finally succumbed to Global Warming.

Dr. Anthony Smith, one of only a few thousand people to survive Global Warming Ignition, has come to the conclusion that the destruction of our planet and society had been due to Injudicious Breeding which lead (in his opinion) to over population, WAR, unnatural climate changes, lower intelligence, poor physical health, poverty, lust and greed. Having isolated the Dionysus gene, he decided to start society anew by manipulating Human DNA to ensure all their offspring would be born Gay/Lesbian. Thus creating a society where Gay/Lesbian is the norm... to be straight labels you an Opposite and makes you an Outkast.

~ Nature Versus Nurture ~

Some 200 years later Dr. Smith’s descendants have maintained control of the Government that rules society. House Gaeland rules their lands, as well as the other 6 countries that survived GWI. Twins, Aiya and Aiyan, are next in line to rule alongside their soon to be wife and husband. There is, however, a growing anomaly; one that threatens to unravel over 200 years of progress. This anomaly is known as Opposites.

Author Bio:
A military brat born and raised at Ft. Benning Georgia; Smith is an avid reader, reviewer and writer.  She now calls Texas home from her small town on the outskirts of the DFW Metroplex.  Most days you can find her curled up with her kindle and a good book alongside a glass of something aged and red or a steaming cup of coffee! 

At 42 years young, she’s decided to enter the next phase of her life by adding the title of “author” to her list of accomplishments that includes single mom of three disturbingly outspoken and decidedly different kids, one of which is Autistic.  Her two eldest kids and gay best friend were the inspiration for her upcoming new release, Opposites. 

 A personal note from author TM Smith

I can’t thank all my sister bloggers enough for supporting me by hosting this cover reveal event!  I’ve made some wonderful and fascinating friends this past year while working on Opposites; bloggers, reviewers and authors that have made a huge impact on me.  I wish I could list you all by name.  I hope you all know how very much I appreciate the support.

I will say the three most important things in life are Faith, Family and Friends.  I have the best of all three!  I thank god everyday for my wonderfully dysfunctional family and close knit group of friends.  To have family and friends that support you when you are right, wrong or indifferent is a gift!




Friday, January 25, 2013

C.M Stunich's Tasting Never Blog Tour



*The following novel is not recommended for readers under the age of 18 due to mature content and graphic language!*

Book Blurb: 
"Never Ross wants to be loved.
It's that simple, but it's not that easy."

Never is a girl with a broken soul who doesn't date nice guys and can't seem to go to bed at night without crying herself to sleep. She doesn't need any complications in her life, especially not when they're attached to a man that could be her emotional twin.

Ty McCabe can't stand Never the first time he meets her. He's aware that the feeling's mutual and the two don't think they'll ever see each other again, but when fate takes a hand and puts them both in the wrong place at the wrong time, Ty and Never form a tentative friendship that opens the door on their dark sides and shows them what it's like to live in the light.

"Sometimes, the only way to go forward, is to take a few, careful steps back."


Review:

Tasting Never is an interesting novel, to say the least.  It is the tale of a young woman with a number of personal issues named Never Ross.  She battles against what could be viewed as an unhealthy view of sex and self-loathing.  It is a dark tale in which she uses men for sex just to ease some hole in herself.  That is until she meets Ty McCabe, a former male prostitute.  Together they begin a journey towards healing some part of themselves that has been empty for a long time.  Now, whether they achieve that goal or not, well, that is something that you will have to find out for yourself when you read it.
I will be honest, some of the language kind of surprised me, but given the darkness that seems to be a part of Never, it fits.  Some of the things that the character does are appalling but with believable as there are a fair number of young people that suffer through some of the same issues, but never confront them.  This novel not only tells the story of Never Ross, but also educates the reader to some extent on Sex Addictions and what can be done to combat them.  They are serious and it is possible to treat this addiction.  Plus, it makes a point to illustrate that people that suffer from this type of addiction are usually using sex to cover up some other issue.
There is a certain level of darkness to this novel, but there is light as well.  It is really hard to express the true range of emotions that I felt while reading this novel, but I will say this, it was worth the experience.  Plus I learned a few things that I did not know before. There are a lot of reasons that I could give you to read this novel, but suffice to say, I do think that you should give this book a chance.  I wasn’t too sure what to think when I began, but as I continued I found myself drawn in more and more.  Try Tasting Never, you might be pleasantly surprised by the experience.

Excerpt (from Amazon):


Ty's hot mouth is on my neck, and I find myself taking short, sharp, little breaths as I press my shaking hands to his chest. If I sleep with him again, I'll be making the biggest mistake of my life. He's the first real friend I've ever had, and I don't want to cheapen the feelings that are simmering between us. We made that mistake once before, and we survived. We've been through a lot since then, and I know that if I lose him now, I will never be whole again. Ty is my other half, lover or no, and just being around him is enough for me.
“Ty,” I say, trying my best to sound stern. Instead, my voice comes out like a butterfly, flutters against Ty's hair and swirls it gently against my lips. I moan and find that my fingers are now curled in the fabric of his T-shirt.
“Never,” he says back to me, the word like fire against my skin. In those two syllables, I hear how he feels about me. He thinks he's in love. Ty McCabe thinks he's in love with me. He doesn't say it aloud, but I can tell. Sex isn't the best way for me to show my feelings; I've abused it for far too long that it has somehow lost some of its meaning. I try to tell Ty this, but I can't speak with his lips on my throat and his hand sliding across the nape of my neck.
I run my own hands down his chest and put them beneath his shirt, on the hard plane of his belly. His muscles contract as I press my fingers into them, touching, feeling, absorbing the man, the complication, that is Ty McCabe. All the while, my mind is racing in circles trying to talk me out of this.
“Kiss me,” Ty says and it's not a question, it's a request, albeit a gentle one. His voice is softer than I've ever heard it. His words are naked, stripped of all the bullshit that's happened to him, all of the horrible things that mirror my own life. Ty and I are like twins, like two halves of the same whole. They say that opposites attract, but Ty and I are very much the same and the attraction between us burns brighter than the sun. “Kiss me,” he says again and I do.

About the Author:


C.M. Stunich was raised under a cover of fog in the area known simply as Eureka, CA. A mysterious place, this strange, arboreal land nursed Caitlin's (yes, that's her name!) desire to write strange fiction novels about wicked monsters, magical trains, and Nemean Lions (Google it!). She currently enjoys drag queens, having too many cats, and tribal bellydance.

Always a fan of the indie scene and 'sticking it to the man,' Ms. Stunich decided to take the road less traveled and forgo the traditional publishing route. You can be assured though that she received several rejections as to ensure her proper place in the world of writers before taking up a friend's offer to start a publishing company. Sarian Royal was born, and Ms. Stunich's books slowly transformed from mere baking chocolate to full blown tortes with hand sculpted fondant flowers.

C.M. is a writer obsessed with delivering the very best and scours her mind on a regular basis to select the most unusual stories for the outside world.

Ms. Stunich can be reached via e-mail or by post and loves to hear from her readers. Ms. Stunich also wrote this biography and has no idea why she decided to refer to herself in the third person.

Come visit me at www.cmstunich.com !

Happy reading and carpe diem!

Sincerely,

C.M. Stunich

Be sure to check out the next two novels in the Never Say Never Trilogy!
















Buy Link:
Amazon 

Stalker Links:  Amazon Author Page 
Goodreads 
Official Website 
Facebook 
Twitter



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, January 24, 2013

Whisper by Heather Hildenbrand


The Cherokee believe when a person dies, their soul is reborn. Life is repeated. An endless cycle of lessons to be learned, love to be found, destiny to be fulfilled. For the past six months, in every flower, every bird, I’ve imagined my parents, relieved of their human forms.

Now, after five months at the Skye View Wellness Center, it was summer. A time for parties and friends, but that’s the last thing I want to do. So when my best friend Erin convinces me to attend a bonfire at Eagle Point, I can’t handle the crowd full of sympathetic stares or drunken class clowns who would use my tragedy as a way into my heart – or my pants. The solitude of the woods offers an escape, until I stumble upon a boy, unconscious and bleeding, his pockets stuffed not with identification but with poetry illustrating the beauty of dying. I’ve seen enough death. I will not leave this boy’s side.

Even after he wakes, when the only thing he can remember are visions of events that haven’t happened yet…


Review of Whisper:

Whisper by Heather Hildenbrand, wow, just wow!  Words really cannot express how wonderful this novel was.  I sat down to read, not knowing what to expect, and was blown away.  The story is poignant and moving, especially when Whisper speaks of her loss.  Loss for any one is a hard burden to carry, but Whisper is unfortunately doubly cursed as she loses both of her parents in one night, the victims of a tragic vehicle accident…or is it? 
Whisper comes to find out that magic is real and still exists in a multitude of ways, especially with her people, the Cherokee.  Her tale takes you on a journey through loss and the eventual healing that does come, along with a love that has lasted generations.
I loved this novel.  I enjoy paranormal fiction, but this is fresh and new.  Instead of snarling werewolves or lovesick vampires, Whisper educates us on the legends of the Cherokee.  I loved the glimpse into a culture that is so different from what most of us know.  What Whisper believes to be nothing more than a story is as real as you or I.  The loss that she feels coupled with the eventual love she comes to feel for Dylan played on my heartstrings.  I felt her loss keenly and the developing relationship with Dylan made me sigh.  And the twists and turns, well they sure did keep me guessing, right up to the very end.
I loved this novel, and this is one that I can very well see myself reading again and again.  This is a book that will appeal to a wide variety of readers, whether you enjoy suspense, romance, drama, or paranormal fiction, as this book has a little of each captured within its pages.
Check out Whisper, as I believe it to be worthy of everyone’s TBR list! 

Buy Links:

About the author:


Heather Hildenbrand
 was born and raised in a small town in northern Virginia where she was homeschooled through high school. She now lives in coastal VA, a few miles from the Atlantic Ocean, with her two adorable children. She works from home, part time, as a property manager and when she's not furiously pounding at the keyboard, or staring off into space whilst plotting a new story, she's lying on the beach, soaking in those delicious, pre-cancerous rays.
Heather loves Mexican food, hates socks with sandals, and if her house was on fire, the one thing she'd grab is her DVR player.
You can find out more about her and her books at
 http://www.heatherhildenbrand.blogspot.com/
Or you can follow her via these Stalker Links:

Heather is a co-founder of Accendo Press, a publishing group she operates with fellow authors: Angeline Kace and Jennifer Sommersby. Accendo (a-CH-endo), A Latin word, means to kindle, illuminate, inflame, or set fire. This is something Accendo strives to do inside a readers imagination with every title released. For a complete list of titles and author bios, visit www.accendopress.com.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Blog Tour: On the Plus Side, by Tabatha Vargo!



Blurb of Book:

Big girls need love, too, but at what cost?

Lilly is loaded, not only with money, but with weight. Both things she could do without. But even with her undesired millionaire status, she doesn’t hold on to false hopes of finding true love. So when a sexy stranger comes into her life dripping with seduction, she finds it hard to resist. The bigger they are the harder they fall and Lilly falls straight through the floor in love with Mr. Sexy. Too bad he’s there for all the wrong reasons.

The chance of losing it all will make you do some crazy things and Devin’s willing to do whatever it takes to keep his life together. All seems lost when out of nowhere he’s approached by a Millionaire Momma with an offer he can’t refuse. But even a womanizer like Devin has a heart and when the short, chunky girl with the carefree attitude breaks through his icy fa├žade, he finds that losing everything takes on a whole new meaning.

***Warning: this book contains graphic language, sex, and violence. Mature readers only. Not intended for young adult readers.***


Review:
I was so utterly excited when I first heard about this book.  There are very few books out there for women who are “plus size” that don’t make us feel completely embarrassed and ashamed of what we look like.  So when I heard about this book, and about the concept behind it, I literally jumped for joy. It’s about time a big girl gets the guy!
I really enjoyed Lily and Devin’s growing relationship, as well as the chemistry that burned between them.  He only approached her because of her mother’s offer, but it was apparent during their first meeting that there was a possibility of more.  She wasn’t his norm, but he could see the beauty that others didn’t normally see.
While you may think it’s despicable for Devin to date her for money, the circumstances called for it.  And Lily really did deserve to find romance and passion in her life.  The whole time that I was reading this book I kept biting my nails, scared to death of the possibility of Lily finding out what her mother had done.  The anticipation nearly killed me!
I won’t give anything away about the high points, cause let’s face it, this is one of those books that BEGS for you to read more.  You won’t be able to look away until the end, and when you hit that point, you’ll want to throttle someone because it ended. 
Step into the life of a plus size woman.  A woman who sees herself as less than others, less desirable, just less.  Then watch as she blossoms before Devin’s eyes.  Watch as Devin grows as well.  You’ll fall in love with the characters in this book and you’ll end up wanting MORE! Oh, and did I mention the steaminess that is sprinkled throughout the book? It’s HOT!  The author sure knows how to make the reader’s blood boil with excitement and passion! You’ll be missing out if you don’t grab a copy of this book!


About the Author:
Tabatha has been writing since she could pick up a pencil. Her first publication was a little poem in her elementary school paper, from that point on she was hooked. When she was a teenager, she traded in her girly magazines for personalized writing notebooks.

At nineteen, she met her own personal prince charming and writing took a back burner for a while. She is now married to that prince and the mother of a beautiful Six year old princess/rock star. Once her daughter was born, writing came back into her life, and she finished her very first novel in May of 2009.

She is pursuing a Bachelors in English and hopes to one day teach while continuing to write.

As a stay-at-home mom and full-time student, Tabatha enjoys the freedom of spending a good bit of her days doing what she loves the most…writing.




Sunday, January 20, 2013

Shadows & Voices; A Holly Silverstone Adventure by Jason Ellis

Review by the amazing Samantha Truesdale, from http://momof2bookreviews.com/!!! Make sure you check her blog out as well!  


I am so excited to be here today!  Thank you Ruthi and MaryAnn for having me!

I was absolutely stoked when I was asked to help out and review Shadows and Voices for this guest post.  This book had been on my TBR list for quite some time, I was just having trouble finding the time to get to it.  R&M Fab Book Reviews gave me just the excuse I needed.  As I began reading, I knew that I was not going to be disappointed.  I loved Jason Ellis' writing style, I got to see the story through many different characters eyes, not just one.

The majority of the story centers around Holly Silverstone, a young girl who has seen things in her life that were... let's just say not normal.  It helped her to believe in magic though, and she loved devery bit of it.  One day Holly receives a pretty interesting letter from The Highlands Academy of Truth and Excellence.  It was quite strange because at first glance, the letter was blank.  Slowly the words began swirling and appearing right before her eyes.  She could hardly think about anything else.  She later finds out that she will be attending an interview to enroll.

After finding out she is accepted to The Highlands Academy, Holly is introduced to a whole new world she had only imagined in her dreams.  She sees things that don't seem possible.

I loved this book.  I would give it 4.5 out of 5 stars.  The book started out very dark, but as the story progressed it lightened up a bit.  You can tell there was a lot of thought behind each and every one of the characters.  Jason Ellis has done a wonderful job in writing a series that I cannot wait to share with my sons.  I have definitely jumped on the Holly Silverstone train and will be following along.  I cannot wait to see what adventures Holly will encounter next!

About the Author:
I started writing in approximately 1997(ish) with an idea that was in my head ... it's still there, maybe one day I'll finish it.
Anyway, true story, I started off with a trilogy(sci-fi) after I drew an illustration on my PC. You see, there had to be a reason for the picture - what was happening? What had made this scene happen?
Like I say, a trilogy followed, from one picture ... it'll be re-published one day after I've laughed at my early writing. Others followed, some I've taken out of print to edit and republish, others may never see print again(or Kindle), but I doubt I'll ever let that happen :)
At present, I'm working on many new books. We have the Amelia Maylock series(Kids/ teen fantasy), the brand new Holly Silvertone books(Kids/ teen gothic fantasy), Antonia(illustrated teen horror), and some supernatural/ horror as well(Breed of Love to name one title) ... wow, I am busy!!

I live in the UK - this means I drink tea and enjoy one day in every year where the weather is great.
I'm engaged, have 3 amazing kids and spend practically my entire time writing, thinking about writing, networking on the internet with other authors/ readers ... but I'm a sucka for Lego games on the Wii; Harry Potter, Pirates of the Caribbean, Indiana Jones etc ... they are too much fun!!
I do play the family games but the kids are getting better so once they start beating me at bowling or golf, I'll need an excuse not to play ;)





Saturday, January 19, 2013

Creatura Blog Tour


Creatura Blog Tour


Creatura Blurb


When seventeen year-old Isis Martin is having trouble sleeping 
due to perturbing dreams of a horrific growling beast, she decides
to confront her fear. But what Isis discovers is something other 
than a menacing entity.

The human-like creature offers Isis assurance that he is not a figment
of her imagination. Unwilling to accept his avowal, Isis sets his words
to contest by asking the entity to prove himself - a dare, he readily welcomes.

It is in her dreams that Isis innocently stumbles upon the silent existence of the divine lineage of those that man has long forgotten.

In a quaint town, deep in south Texas, this story leads Isis onto the path of impermissible love and captivating life-changing truths. Isis Martin's 
journey is sure to leave any reader ravenous for more.



Creatura Excerpt

 “You haven’t even asked me what my name is,” he finally spoke.
 “Oh. Sorry.” My face grew bright red. I didn’t have the guts to ask him now that he had put me on the spot.
 We continued walking down the hallway. Right before we turned the corner he stopped walking.
 “I see you’re the shy type.” He tried to analyze me.
 “Not at all.” I threw my hair back over my ear.
 He started advancing toward me and pinned me against the white hallway wall. My heart started to race.
 “Well, aren’t you going to ask me what my name is?” he pressed.
 “Don’t…don’t try anything. I can scream.” I could feel my throat drying up. “The security guards will come right away if you pull anything.”
 His laugh echoed against the hallway walls.
 “I just want you to know my name.”
 I took a side step, but he was quick to follow.
 “I’m going to tell you my name, since you’re too shy to ask.”
 My heartbeat was at my neck, while my mind sounded off all the things I should do: “I should yell. I should punch him in the gut.”
 I was frozen like a deer in front of headlights.
 “It’s David…” He slowly leaned in toward my face, “…and I’m real.” I suddenly recognized that voice. I opened my mouth in an effort to scream at the top of my lungs. He pressed his hand over my mouth muffling my poor attempt at crying out for help.
 “I win,” he grinned.
 My entire body trembled frantically as I felt the blood plummet from my head and down to my feet. I was no longer breathing. I started to feel a cold numbness. Everything turned black. My legs caved in taking my consciousness with them.

Review:
Creatura by Nely Cab has been a wonderful reading experience.  I absolutely love anything that has a tie, regardless of how small, to any kind of mythology, and let me tell you this, it has all of that and then some.  I was blown away at the character of Isis.  She is a girl, like most teenage girls, dealing with a broken heart, but there is more than just that going on in her life.  She is having trouble sleeping and it turns out that the man of her dreams, or nightmares, is now attending her high school.  But, somehow these two are meant to be together.  How their relationship develops is enthralling, for lack of better way to put it.  I love the entire story line, as this is not your typical teen romance.  Their relationship is fraught with danger at every turn.  Now, will they be able to stand the test of time?  Will they survive all that threatens to tear them apart?  And will Isis discover the truth about her past?  Well folks, these are answers that you are going to have to discover for yourself.  Make sure you pick up your copy of Creatura today and get swept away in the story of a lifetime!



GRAND PRIZE: Signed copy of Creatura and Creatura Pen, Bookmark, Coin Bag, Lipgloss, "Property of Dahveed" Dog Tag Necklace
PRIZE #2: Creatura Bookmark, Lipgloss and Pen
PRIZE #3: Creatura Bookmark, Lipgloss and Pen
*Hosted by Phenomenal Reviews in collaboration with Author Stacey Rourke and team. 









a Rafflecopter giveaway