Tuesday, November 27, 2012

Review of Monique Rockliffe's Short Story "The Door"

During a desert excavation in a foreign land an astounding discovery is made that changes the future of mankind forever.

The Deceivers have one goal in mind: to rule the world, and now they've discovered the means to do so. Their endless resources, and immense political clout, make them the most powerful group on the planet and they will do anything to make sure it stays that way, even murdering men, women, and children in the name of science.

Fortunately for mankind there are people who believe in the continuance of everything good and fair and in the importance of protecting all fragile life, and when they discover the evil plans of The Deceivers they come together and design a plan to counter these diabolical men and women, who have in their possession something that could lead man into the next level of their evolution, something alien and vastly intelligent, something very much alive! But what they possess is more dangerous and destructive than they could ever have imagined, and when their experiments go horribly wrong the entire world begins to suffer horribly.

Desperate to find a solution, a Boy and a Girl and a group called The Scientists battle everyday to find a way to reverse the damage done by The Deceivers' arrogance, and when their despair is at its worst a miracle presents itself.

The Door not only exposes the evil mankind is capable of but also the compassion, love, and determination to preserve all life and appreciate every moment of it. Life is short, and it's our responsibility to make sure we do as much as we can in the time we have to live it to the full - even if that means sacrificing everything to make sure others get a chance to continue on. History teaches us where we went wrong and where we succeeded. Isn’t it time we listened?

I recently read “The Door” by Monique Rockliffe and was once again astounded with her talent as a writer.  This is a short story, so instead of rehashing any part of it, I am going to just give you my impressions.  I have an interest in science-fiction, and this story, if you are like me in that regard, is right up your alley.  There are plenty of elements that will appease a die-hard sci-fi fan, but there is so much more.  I was left with questions at the end, not of the story itself, but more of a philosophical nature.  I wondered what I would think or do if I was to be confronted with the same info that is presented to the male character in the story.  I wish that I could give you even a slight hint of what takes place in this story but to do so would give it away.  I hope that you check this story out, as it is a fantastic read, and I think that many of you will enjoy it as much as I did.  Happy Reading everyone!

Monique was born in Johannesburg, South Africa, where she currently resides with her husband.
Always the avid reader, she spent every available moment since childhood reading, which fuelled her already boundless imagination. She loved watching as many fantasy and science fiction films as possible, establishing her love and passion for storytelling of the Otherworldly kind.
She became a dancer at age five which turned into a successful professional career, but she never lost her first passion. She began writing seriously in 2009 when her dancing career came to an end and her husband and greatest supporter urged her to finally make a start.
She currently has two Epic Fantasy novels published and available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble. The Sword Bearers is Book 1 and The Sword Bearer’s Journey is Book 2 of a tetralogy, with the third, The Sword Bearer’s Awakening, almost ready for publication to be available early 2013.

Stalker Link:

Buy Links:

Friday, November 23, 2012

Project ELE Excerpt! This is a must read!

FREE on Amazon and Barnes & Noble! So make sure you pick up your copy today!

Millions have already died, and thousands more are perishing daily. As a last ditch effort to preserve the human race, the government implements Project ELE.  With the earth heating at rapid speeds, all remaining survivors are forced to turn to F.E.M.A. shelters to wait out ELE's wrath.
Fifteen-year-old Willow Mosby's life, as she knows it, ends the moment she walks through the shelter's door.  Willow has to quickly adapt to the new challenges that shelter life demands, the least of which includes making new friends and working a full time job.
Soon after making an interesting discovery, Willow and her friends start exhibiting strange abilities. Seeking answers, they embark on a mission to find out what these new abilities mean and whether they are a gift or a curse.
This new adventure can send her world crashing down around her. The question is: Can Willow survive the fall?
From the authors of Night Marchers comes a new apocalyptic series with a paranormal twist.

Excerpt from Chapter 1 (Six days in line)

            Waiting in line totally bites! What's worse than waiting in line? Waiting in line, outside in the stifling heat with escalating temperatures. The only relief being a hand held battery operated fan and a portable misting machine that ran through our daily ration of water in less than two hours.
Beads of sweat drip down my face, causing my eyes to sting. My dad faces his fan so it hits the back of my neck. He always looks composed and collected, but even he isn't immune to this sweltering weather. His salt and pepper hair is plastered to his head with sweat and his usually vibrant green eyes show telltale signs of heat exhaustion.
"They could have at least left the patches up until we had a chance to apply for entry.  Maybe then the heat wouldn't be this stifling." Our neighbor in line, Mr. Leroy mumbles. The patches that cover the holes in the ozone layer is all everyone talks about lately. They are the only thing that keeps us all from burning to a crisp. Mr. Leroy is an elderly man with leathery skin, shiny grey hair and beady brown eyes. He walks around all day in only a pair of plaid boxers and a ‘wife beater’ undershirt. Some of the older women scoff at his choice of attire.  It doesn’t faze him though; he says that dying of heat stroke while waiting in line to see if you pass inspection would defeat the purpose entirely. While I may agree with Mr. Leroy on that part, I have to say that honestly, he gives me the heebie-jeebies. He wears a nasty frown twenty-four seven and always reeks of stinky old man sweat. My mom assures us that he's just a cranky old geezer with a thousand conspiracy theories and that he has nothing better to do other than share them with us.

"You know Lee, they are doing the best they can. The virus is spreading at rapid speeds and they have no choice but to begin the heating process to stop it." My dad says this, not bothering to remove the annoyance from his voice.

"Is that why they let all of the rich ones in first?" Mr. Leroy asks with a cynical expression. "They've been in there for two weeks already and the rest of us 'lower class' just now got invited to the party."

I catch my dad rolling his eyes behind Mr. Leroy's back. It makes me grin, especially since he always gets onto me when I do it. My parents are none to happy to have Mr. Leroy behind us in line. Up until Mr. Leroy opened his mouth, my parents had done their best to shelter us from the impending doom that we were all facing. Mr. Leroy on the other hand, couldn't care less that we are 'merely' children as my mom would put it. He voices his distaste for this whole situation, which he deems completely the government’s fault, whenever he so feels like it. With him running his mouth non-stop, my parents had no choice but to tell me most everything. My four year old little brother, Sebastian, is too young to understand. At fifteen, I truly feel I can handle the truth. Well, at least I think I can. To be totally upfront, I'm scared to death, but I'm dealing with it the only way I know how: Pretend, I could care less. It's a hard facade to pull off though.

We've had a rather closed off life for the past few years, as have many children. With the fear of the virus looming over everyone's heads our parents had kept us inside our home for the most part. We had stopped going to a formal school by the time I was ten. Now we are home schooled online. Of course I never truly understood why we were forced to stay inside our small home all of the time. 

Millions have already died, with thousands more dying daily. The government was forced to implement Project ELE. Don't ask me who ELE is because I have no idea. I asked my dad once who she was, his expression went dark as he replied, "All you need to know is that you don't want to meet her." I didn't ask him again after that. After all, if ELE scares my dad, I'm sure she would terrify me.

With Project ELE in place we only have another seventy-two hours before the temperatures are predicted to increase above one hundred and seventy degrees, which will most likely kill the remaining survivors outside of the F.E.M.A. shelter. Our bodies are not meant to withstand that kind of heat, neither is the virus. Currently the temperature is at one hundred degrees and some of the people in line have already faded away because of it. Fading away from heat stroke seems like a more pleasant way to die than to experience the excruciating death caused by the virus. It's an eerie feeling watching people that have died being whisked away on a stretcher with a white sheet draped over their bodies.

This shelter is our only hope to survive this thing. All remaining power that wasn't diverted for Project ELE has been re-routed or conserved to run the few F.E.M.A. shelters across the country. The line to our shelter is running at a snail’s pace. There are so many tests stations to go through before people are permitted to enter the shelter where we will supposedly spend the next three years or until they can get the patches back up, whichever comes first.

Before you can enter the shelter they have to verify that you are not infected and that you are fit to survive. Mr. Leroy says repeatedly that this is not the place to bring the weak or weary and it's especially not the place to bring the sick.

This whole business started with the sick. A virus brought forth from a cure. They thought it would work, that it could heal everything. Cancer, diabetes, depression, the flu, even the common cold could be healed by 'The C.U.R.E.' or Counteractive Universal Recovery Elixir.   It did work for several years, until a super virus came along that not even our precious 'C.U.R.E.' could fix. My mom says that we weren't meant to live forever. Not that we could live forever even with the 'C.U.R.E..'  Meaning that we couldn't cheat death by curing everything the world suffered from.

The super virus killed off more than half of the world’s population. No country was safe from this air born virus; it only takes a measly few days to die once infected. In an attempt to kill off the super virus, the United Nations agreed to pull down the patches that they spent over a hundred years perfecting. Obviously I wasn't around when the patches first went up to cover the giant gaping holes in the ozone layer but I heard that it took a tremendous amount of energy and power to put them up in the first place. It is said that the entire world worked together back then and went for a full month without electricity of any sort in order to put the patches in place.  This is another reason why they are diverting all of the energy now and not allowing us to stay in our homes. They need that power to put the patches back up after the warming does its job. On a side note, the project for creating those patches a hundred years ago was also called Project ELE. It's kind of creepy if you ask me.

Scientists anticipate that with the patches gone it will cause a long-term heating of the earth's surface that will hopefully kill off the virus. They aren't sure if the plan will work, but obviously with the temperatures rising daily, it seems to be. They don't know what the long-term effects will be on the planet after they cause this heating, but the United Nations deemed the possible reward was worth the risk.

Also available on the iBookStore

Tuesday, November 20, 2012

Cover Reveal for Atone, by Sarah M. Ross!

Title: Atone (Patronus, #2.5)
Age Group: Young Adult
Genre: Paranormal
Expected Release: late Dec. 2012/early Jan. 2013
Cover Design: Donna Dull of Sharp Cover Designs
Cover reveal organized by: AToMR Tours

This novella from Max's point of view is meant to be read after AVENGE (Patronus,#2).
Before there was Awaken, before there was “Lucy and Max”, there was just Max. And he had some issues.

A lot of issues.

Max Kensington ‘s death haunted him for years. The guilt of his sins tormented him. Unable to let go, he was sure he’d never be able to atone for all of them. But that didn’t stop him from trying.
When his reason for being is suddenly thrust back into his life, he vows to protect her at all costs. He’ll do whatever it takes to make sure history doesn’t repeat itself. And this time, he’ll fight to the bitter end to capture the one thing that has alluded him—happiness.

I started my obsession with reading at an early age, getting in trouble for sneaking BabySitter Club and Nancy Drew books into math class in elementary school. I would read any fiction book I could get my hands on. I knew it was an addiction when instead of grounding me from TV or music, my mom would take away my books as punishment (The Horror!). My love of all things paranormal was inspired by my good friend Laurie, who convinced me that books with vampires, witches, and all things shifter were amazing. After a little reluctance, I gave it a shot with the Sookie Stackhouse books, realized she was right, and the rest was history.
I grew up in Pittsburgh, graduated from The University of Pittsburgh with my degree in English, and taught 8th graders to love reading as much as I do for several years. I will always be a proud member of the Steelers Nation, but I couldn’t take the cold and moved my frozen tush to Florida where I now live with my family and two cats. You will find me now with my trusty Kindle in hand and toes in the sand!

Friday, November 16, 2012

Blog Tour for Wicked Fate, by Tabatha Vargo!


<<Blurb of Wicked Fate<<
What if you lived in fear of yourself?
For Mage McPherson being afraid of herself is just the norm. Thanks to that fear, being a loner in a small town never bothered the mysterious Mage. Once she received her secret abilities, she figured being alone was the safest way to be. That all changes during her sophomore year at Summerville High when Adam, her equally mysterious secret crush, starts to notice her.
Afraid that she might harm Adam, Mage must learn to either control or deny herself. With Adam by her side she's more powerful than shes ever been, but is she powerful enough to defeat her worst nightmare? She learns a hard lesson about love and magic when her destiny comes to collect.

<<Review of Wicked Fate<<
Set in Summerville, SC, this book holds a special place in my heart.  Mage is misunderstood and lonely, spending her free time isolated from the world, speaking only to the spirits that inhabit her home.  Its a lonely life for her.  Instead of having one of those characters that makes you want to strangle her, Mage is a protagonist that we can all be proud to read about.  Shes headstrong and smart, two characteristics that I find to be seriously lacking in a lot of books these days.  No whimpering and whining for this chick!
And then theres Adam...Mr. Yumtastic himself.  Every girls dream: smart, handsome, and a genuinely nice guy.  I literally wanted to pack my bags and head for Summerville in hopes of finding him for myself.  I know, Mage has staked her claim, but a girl can dream, cant she??
Okay, so let me first say this: Tabatha Vargo, I seriously hope youre already writing book two because the ending...Grrrr! Mrs. Vargo takes you on a ride that is both magical and realistic at the same time.  There is that whimsical quality, like Mage and Adams first Christmas (insert AWWWW), but theres also so many facets that are rooted right here, making it accessible to everyone.  You feel as if you could be just like Mage.  The characters are well written and entrancing and the story is fast paced and sucks you in.  An immensely well written book that I believe has the potential to take over the YA world. 
I dont think I can put into words how much I enjoyed this book.  It may seem as if I endorse every book I read, but that is not the case.  But today, for Wicked Fate, Im telling you that if you dont read it, youre seriously missing out.  Now, I must head out so that I may do some harassing of Mrs. Vargo to get that next book into my hot hands!  

<<Author Bio<<
Tabatha has been writing since she could pick up a pencil. Her first publication was a little poem in her elementary school paper, from that point on she was hooked. When she was a teenager, she traded in her girly magazines for personalized writing notebooks.
At nineteen, she met her own personal prince charming and writing took a back burner for a while. She is now married to that prince and the mother of a beautiful six-year-old princess/rock star. Once her daughter was born, writing came back into her life, and she finished her very first novel in May of 2009.

She is pursuing a Bachelors in English and hopes to one day teach while continuing to write.
As a stay-at-home mom and full-time student, Tabatha enjoys the freedom of spending a good bit of her days doing what she loves the mostwriting.

<<Stalker Links<<

Cover Reveal for debut author Krystal Marlein!

<Cover Reveal for Debut Author Krystal Marlein! We are so proud of you woman! < 

Cover Design by Airicka Phoenix <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<< <<<<<<
For 15 year old Jade, every day is a struggle.
To pretend she's happy.
To keep her secrets hidden.
To live.
To die.
Anorexia. Depression. Abuse.  Her secrets, her demons. Can she hold on long enough to learn how to live? When the one person in the world who should be her greatest ally is her worst enemy and biggest tormentor, how long can she hold on? Can she save herself before it's too late?
With one act of rage her world is ripped apart. Hearts will be broken, lives changed forever. Will it be too late to fix the damage?

Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Beyond The Veil Blog Tour Stop!

Beyond the Veil by Quinn Loftis

Today is our stop for the Beyond the Veil Blog Tour, by Quinn Loftis! Our number is 7!!!!

Book Blurb:
Though the Serbian pack has been brought to heel thanks to the downfall of their Alpha, the war is far from over.
Desdemona, a witch of unfathomable power, has escaped the wolves’ wrath, but she will not go quietly into the night. She takes refuge in a place where even the smallest sliver of light does not dare to enter. Though she had to flee, she has not given up on the treasure she wishes to acquire. Her depravity knows no bounds; she's even willing to search for the one who can assist her in opening a Veil that has not been opened in millennia – with good reason: the danger is incalculable.
 Meanwhile, there are major changes rippling through the Romanian Grey wolves. Decebel has become Alpha to the Serbian pack in an effort to begin to unite the Canis lupis species. Their numbers are dwindling in the wake of the shortage of true mates and lack of offspring. The wolves are beginning to lose faith and darkness seems to be crashing in on them from all sides.

Book Trailer:

Author Bio: 

Quinn is a wife, mother, nurse, and writer, not necessarily in that order. She lives in beautiful North West Arkansas with her husband, son and Nora their Doberman pinscher. She loves writing, reading, and crocheting. Her favorite holiday is Christmas, favorite book(s) is Pride and Prejudice, The Alpha and Omega Series by Patricia Briggs, and the Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling. She loves to be silly and have fun, loves music and thinks there is no greater sound than the sound in the world than that of her little boy's laughter.

Stalker Links: 
Buy Links: 

All Blogs participating will have numbers that will be in bold print RED, so make sure you all keep track. At the end of the tour you will need to tally all of the numbers you collected from each site and enter it into our giveaway!

What are you playing for you ask?
I will tell you!!!
*A signed Just One Drop book
*Signed Decebel and Jen posters
(be still my heart)
*And a bracelet made by Jaime R.!
Only correct answers will be entered!!

Here is the schedule!


TSK, TSK What to Read?

Delphina Reads Too Much   

Reeses Reviews

Bawaka's Book Fair

Paranormal Book Club
Vamps and Stuff

Book on the Bright Side 

Young Adult and Teen Readers
Cynthia Shepp Book Reviews

Kaina's Book Blog

R&M Fab Reviews     

Lagniappe Books

 Books, Brownies and Barkers

Read Between the Lines
Paranormal Reads

Phenomenal Reviews  

Book Crazy

 Book Nerds Across America

Cassie's Reviews De-La-Mazing 

Sparring Stepsisters
Indie Author Release


Sweet Treat Reading Reviews

And this last stop everyone is where
you will total all the numbers you found
in RED.
All correct numbers will be entered into the big drawing
of all the FAB goodies mentioned above!


Tuesday, November 13, 2012

Cover AND Title Reveal for Elizabeth Kirke's Newest Project!

We are so excited to be helping Elizabeth Kirke, author of More than Magic: Semester Aboard, with her Cover and Title Reveal of her newest project!
Blurb for More than Magic: Danio’s Prelude:

On the surface, Dani’s a laid-back, easy-going joker. Dive a little deeper and you’ll find that still waters do run deep. Dani keeps more than his share of secrets, and life as a joker might just be the only way he can deal with a past that should have broken him.
Hear his story, told by the people who know him best. The ones who knew him when his laughter was genuine. The ones who were there through the worst that life could throw at him. And the ones who stayed by his side while he picked up the pieces.

Extra Tidbits from the Author:
Set for a tentative March 2013 release, Danio’s Prelude is a collection of twelve short stories ranging from the happiest to the darkest points in Dani’s life. Each story is told from the point of view of a different character in the More than Magic world.

Unlike Semester Aboard and the upcoming sequel Snow Bound, Danio’s Prelude will not be young/new adult. There will be frequent use of foul language, extreme violence, and just a bit of steam.

Author Bio:
Elizabeth Kirke wanted to be an author before she even knew what an author was. She used to say that she wanted to be an artist, but that was only because she was too young to write and had to tell stories with pictures instead. She hasn't stopped writing since she learned how. It wasn't long before she dreamed of becoming an author and couldn't be happier now that that dream is a reality.

If she isn't writing...well, let's be honest; if she isn't writing she's probably on Facebook thinking that she should start writing. But, if she isn't writing or on Facebook, she's probably doing something involving books, baking, gardening, or yarn. In an ideal world, she'd be reading and knitting while something from the garden is in the oven. Then again, in an ideal world, she'd have a flock of ducks and a couple of goats.

Like most slightly-nosy, avid readers, Elizabeth can't resist trying to catch a peek at books she sees people reading when out in public to see if she can figure out what it is. While doing just that one day, she realized that it would probably be the coolest-thing-ever if she caught a complete stranger reading one of her books. That's her new dream.

Stalker Links: 
Buy Links: 

Friday, November 9, 2012

Guest Post by Kelly Accinni

Today on R&M we welcome the wonderful Kelly Accinni to our blog today!  She wanted to share something special with all of our friends, fans, and followers!  Enjoy!  

Kelly Accinni

Thanks for the chance to introduce your fans to a great giveaway.

*****On Nov 15 I will draw someone's name to win an Amazon Gift Certificate worth $150.00*****

All they need to do is read any of my three books in the series Species Intervention # 6609 and leave a review. Anyone can email me kellyacci@aol.com to request a file of "Baby", "Echo" or "Armageddon Cometh".

I am enclosing an example of one of the best reviews for educating readers that I have ever seen. It just happens to be on my book "Baby" lol  
(Link to Amazon Review )       

The biggest disservice a reviewer can do is expose the plot of the book they are reviewing with a blow-by-blow recap. Yikes! It's not fair to subsequent readers to be a spoiler. 

That said, if we could all control our reviews, we could all be best sellers. Don't miss this writer's exceptional approach to reviewing an ebook and enjoy his take on my book "Baby." For previews of my other books: http://www.speciesintervention.com

Thursday, November 8, 2012

Ema Volf's Guest Post: The Interview of a Lifetime!

Please help us welcome Ema Volf, author of The Rapture of Avery Maye, to our blog today! She is joining us as part of a new thing were doing where we let the author take over our blog! And take over she did! Enjoy!

Ema carefully climbed down the ladder into the darkness below. Crystals embedded into the rock wall behind the ladder glowed brightly enough to illuminate her path, but not enough to blind her. Upon reaching the bottom, she carefully placed her feet on the stone floor. Behind her, she heard a man clear his throat, causing her to yelp in surprise.

She turned around to find a tall man with sun-tanned skin, bluish black hair, and glittering ice blue eyes carrying something small in front of his stomach that she couldn’t see in the dim light. She held her hand over her chest in a sad attempt at calming her heart rate. “Good grief, Alec! What are you doing here?”

A grin spread across his face. “Ruthi and MaryAnn told me that you were posting on their blog today. They expressed a desire for my presence. How could I possibly turn them down?”

“A desire for your presence or a desire for you in general?”

He chuckled to himself. “Does it matter?” He held out the object he had been carrying, a hot cup of her favorite tea. “I brought this for you.”

Ema shook her head, trying to hide her smile. She carefully took the cup from his hands. “Oh, geez. Well, I guess you can stay.”

“Good! Because I planned on it anyways!”

Ema sighed as she walked past him. “I figured as much.” She crossed to a large, round table that sat in the center of the room. In the center of the table rested a bowl full of glowing crystals, like the ones that lined the walls. “I’m glad you finally got around to building this table. It’s definitely going to come in handy.”

“I’ll let our guests in,” Alec said, opening one of three doors on the far side of the room.

“What guests? I thought I would just record this and broadcast it on YouTube or something ...”

“You could do that … But Ruthi and MaryAnn clued Darian in on this little blog takeover, too, and Darian decided to bring them here. Showoff.”

Ema sat her cup of tea on the table and dropped into the nearest chair. Once seated, she lifted the cup to her lips and took a small sip, while admiring the carvings along the side of the table top. Wings and stars. Hmm, she thought. Fitting.

Within moments, a man with shoulder-length brown hair and deep green eyes appeared through a portal inside the small room on the other side of the door that Alec held open. Several people appeared directly behind him. Ema recognized a few faces, but many of them were new. They were all visitors of the R&M’s Fab Book Reviews blog. They all piled into the large room.

“Hi, Darian. I’m glad you could make it,” Ema greeted sweetly.

Darian smiled at her, looking a bit more ragged than usual. Ema assumed it had to do with Avery’s prolonged absence, so she didn’t comment. Instead, she patted the table in front of the chair next to her.

“Come in. Take a seat.” Alec gestured to the table. “Except that one!” he called, as a woman attempted to sit in the chair on Ema’s other side. “That one is mine.”

Ema rolled her eyes, as the woman quickly stood up and went to a different chair on the other side of the table.

Alec quickly sat in the chair the woman had vacated and leaned up against Ema, smiling devilishly.

Ema tensed up. “Alec, didn’t we have this talk about personal space?”

“We might have. I seem to forget,” he teased, refusing to move back.

“Yeah, I’ll bet you do.”

After the last of the R&M guests entered the room, a sandy blond-haired man peeked in from the door behind them.

“Come on in Dillon.” Ema sighed, as she waved him in. “Is anyone else in there?”

“Krystle and Darcie are in here,” Dillon replied.

“Oh, Lord help us. Bring them too, but they better play nice.”

An unnaturally pale woman with black hair and black eyes strode into the room. Close behind her, a woman with light brown hair and dark eyes glared holes through the back of the black-haired woman’s head.

Ema gestured to the black-haired woman. “This is Darcie.” She gestured to the brown-haired woman. “And this is Krystle. Pull up chairs and get yourselves settled. We don’t have much time.”

Darian, Dillon, Krystle, and Darcie quickly grabbed chairs near Avery and Alec.

After inhaling a deep, cleansing breath, Ema smiled. “Hey, everyone!” she began. “Welcome to Eirny! In case you didn’t notice, we are currently sitting underneath the castle. My name is Ema Volf, and I was asked by the lovely ladies at R&M if I wanted to do a guest blog! I more or less said, ‘Darn right I do!’ So here I am! You might have heard of me, before this moment, or you might not have! Either way, you’ve heard of me now, yes? Ha! Anyways, let me tell you more about myself! I am the author of the book The Rapture of Avery Maye! It is the first book in the series called Chronicles of Eirny! It’s a science-fantasy novel written for the YA crowd, but really could be read by anyone! Heck, I’m 27 and LOVE kid, teen, and YA books!”

“Of course!” Alec interrupted. “They’re amazing!”

Ema gave him an awkward look. “Since when do you read? Avery is always the one reading to you!”

“Hey! I read that one book, that one time!”

“Right … So, R&M readers, I would like to introduce you to several characters in my book. They apparently enjoy stalking me until I go mad.”

“But you’re not there quite yet, so I’d say we’re failing,” Alec teased.

“I’m pretty close, I assure you,” she grumbled. “Anyways, I wasn’t expecting any of my characters to be here. They like to surprise me like that. So I suppose I can let them answer questions and chat for a bit. I think I’ll start with Dillon.”

Dillon gave a shy smile and shifted uncomfortably in his chair. He disliked crowds, but he stayed out of support for Ema.

“I have to say, Dillon, I was really impressed by you this book. You stepped up to the plate and helped Xuna out in a major way. What made you decide to take on such a major role in that situation? Many guys walk away from their own children. You picked up half of the responsibility for another man’s child like it was no big thing.”

“What else could I do?” Dillon asked. “Her father is no longer capable. Xuna is my friend, and I love her. I also love our daughter, even if she’s not technically mine.”

“So you’re still not together?”

“I’m waiting patiently, but I’m not sure now is the right time to discuss it with her, all things considered.”

Ema nodded. “Fair enough. Do you hold any resentment toward Felton, the baby’s father?”

“No. It wasn’t his fault.”

Ema briefly looked in Darcie’s direction just in time to see her look away from the table. “Darcie, how does that make you feel?”

“Fan-freaking-tastic,” Darcie growled. “It’s always nice to be reminded of your mistakes.”

“How are you holding up without your brother?”

Darcie’s eye twitched. “As well as can be expected. I don’t usually miss him, if that’s what you’re asking. I don’t have to clean up his messes anymore. Now I just have to deal with my own.”

Ema nodded. “That definitely seems easier.”


“Are you happier on Eirny than you were elsewhere?”

“Overall. I don’t always know how to react to people. But I don’t think they know how to react to me, either.”

“Perhaps if you weren’t so prickly …” Krystle suggested.

“Yeah, like you have any room to talk!” Darcie yelled.

Ema put a hand up in each of their directions. “Alright enough!” she interrupted.  “I think Ruthi from R&M had a question. Go ahead Ruthi.”

Ruthi smiled deviously from across the table. “Krystle, I wanted to ask you. You have had to deal with the attraction between your best friend and the man you care about.”

Darian cleared his throat, before speaking up. “I don’t think it’s really an attraction anymore. She seems quite content now.”

“Oh hush, Darian. You can’t be in denial forever. Or maybe you can. Either way. Krystle,” Ruthi glared at Darian for interrupting, “how is that affecting your friendship?”

Krystle visibly tensed at the question. “It’s not. We are still friends no matter what.” She clenched her teeth. “And when she gets back from wherever she went without telling us, I can show her exactly how good of friends we are. By smacking her upside her darn head for leaving without telling us!” She slammed her hand down on the table top, causing most of the people in the room to jump.

Ema attempted to suppress a laugh. “I take it you’re a bit upset about Avery’s absence?” she asked. “I’m sure she had a good reason.”

“There’s no good reason why she couldn’t tell us! And I’ve had to listen to these two obsess over where she is!” Krystle pointed to Darian and Alec.

“You sure you aren’t worried about her, as well?”

“Of course I am!” she yelled. “She just vanished without a trace!” Krystle covered her face with her hands, attempting to calm down.

Ema peeked at Alec beside her to find his jaw clenched and his eyes downcast. “I see,” she said quietly. She then turned her attention to Darian, paying especially close attention to his pale complexion and worry lines. “You seem to be affected by this the most. Why?”

Darian sighed, sadly. “Avery and I have a connection that none of the other characters really understand. She keeps me tied to this world. Without her, everything changes. I mean that literally. I can no longer see colors. I can hear you, but you sound monotone and dull.”

“I thought that was over once she arrived.”

“It was. However, since she’s been gone, this curse has returned. My best guess is that she went somewhere generally associated with death. Perhaps that distance causes my body to believe that she is dead, when she really is not.”

“Right,” Alec interjected. “Can we talk about something lighter please?”

“I have another question!” Ruthi offered.

Ema nodded. “Go ahead, Ruthi!”

“How did you come up with the idea for this book?”

Ema smiled. “Light enough, Alec?” she asked.

Alec nodded in approval.

“Well, one night I had a dream that I woke up in a place that appeared to be my childhood home. Dreams that start with you waking up area always fun, anyways. But I walked through my house and noticed something odd. There were people in my living room, my kitchen, my parents’ room ... I didn’t know these people, at all. I told them all to leave, but they wouldn’t go. I was so mad that I ran out the door into my backyard. It looked the same as my old backyard. The pool was there. It was nighttime and warm. I’m guessing it was summer in that dream. Anyways everything looked the same, until I looked up. The sky looked very different. The moon was there, and it looked normal. But, to the right, there was also a giant planet that looked a lot like Jupiter. It was close enough that I could even see the bands without a telescope. To the left, a diamond-shaped chunk of earth that looked like a floating, tree-covered mountain was hanging over my neighbor’s yard.”

“That must have been pretty trippy,” Alec said.

“A little. I wasn’t scared. In the dream, I felt more sad than scared. Anyways, one of my friends came up behind me and told me that everyone in the house lived there. I asked where we were, and he told me that we were on another planet. I woke up and wrote that dream down in my dream journal. Oddly enough, I kept having more dreams about the same place, but different parts of it. Eventually I decided to just write it down. Naturally, I changed a few details, made up a history, and added a cooler cast.” Ema winked at her characters sitting around her.

MaryAnn cleared her throat. “Well, I know we could talk all day, but this post is getting awfully long …”

“Oh, MaryAnn! Always keeping us on track!” Ema laughed. “Alright! I think we can wrap it up! Thank you all for joining us! Make sure to check out my book, The Rapture of Avery Maye! It’s on sale now on Amazon, Smashwords, and CreateSpace! I’m including the links below! And while you’re here, there are refreshments in the garden! Pick your own! They taste way better than anything you have on Earth, trust me!”

As Darian led the R&M crowd back out through the portal, Alec rested his arm on Ema’s shoulder.

Ema watched him from the corner of her eye.

“So, Ema,” he said. “I think you should write me into a romance novel.”

Ema laughed and shook her head, before turning to the ladder on the wall and climbing out of the room. Her laughter echoed around the room, as Alec watched her from below.

About the Author:
Ema lives in Northwest Arkansas with her husband, son, cat, two dogs, chinchilla, and bird. She spends her days trying to balance the never-ending work of a homemaker and the schedules of all members of her household while remaining relatively sane.

An avid reader, what time she has to herself is usually spent buried in the pages of a book. She enjoys nearly every genre, but particularly enjoys paranormal fiction of all types and age ranges.

While she constantly has stories and characters rolling around in her head, Avery called to her the loudest. After several months of conversing with Avery, Ema decided to put pen to paper and let others visit Eirny and its beloved residents.

AUTHOR LINKS: